Boss - OC-2 Octaver  [schematic]

All about modern commercial stompbox circuits from Electro Harmonix over MXR, Boss and Ibanez into the nineties.

Moderators: Greg, moderators

  • Advertisement

Boss - OC-2 Octaver

Postby Stompmodder » 04 Jun 2008, 19:28

I've found this schematic on the net. I never be a big fan of boss octavers but i ask if is possible to mod this circuit to improve tracking on bass guitar.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

For this message the author Stompmodder has received thanks: 2
cfredisdead (16 Nov 2012, 03:51), modman (24 May 2015, 23:04)
Stompmodder
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 02 May 2008, 21:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 4 times

Re: BOSS OC-2 CHOPPED SCHEMATIC  [schematic]

Postby Silent Fly » 07 Jul 2008, 10:54

Stompmodder wrote:I've found this schematic on the net. I never be a big fan of boss octavers but i ask if is possible to mod this circuit to improve tracking on bass guitar.


I am working on this very issue but I have a problem and I was wondering if anybody can give me a hand.

I have this schematics + PCB:
http://www.godiksennet.com/images/sch/Boss_OC2_Oktave.jpg
but my unit doesn't match this PCB and schematics (e.g. ICs are different). Does anybody have another version of the schematics/PCB?

Regarding the tracking of the OC-2 with bass guitar, I noticed that if I change C5 the tracking changes (not unexpectedly). Removing C5 makes no difference. Increasing C5 makes the tracking worse.

I don’t see any high-pass filter in the octave generation path… :scratch:
"Remember - all I am offering is the truth, nothing more". Morpheus

For this message the author Silent Fly has received thanks:
modman (24 May 2015, 23:04)
User avatar
Silent Fly
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 423
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 23:40
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 32 times

Re: BOSS OC-2 CHOPPED SCHEMATIC

Postby Silent Fly » 08 Jul 2008, 20:18

Nobody interested to have a look at the schematics and suggest some improvement for bass guitar tracking?
http://www.godiksennet.com/images/sch/Boss_OC2_Oktave.jpg
"Remember - all I am offering is the truth, nothing more". Morpheus

For this message the author Silent Fly has received thanks:
modman (24 May 2015, 23:05)
User avatar
Silent Fly
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 423
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 23:40
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 32 times

Re: Boss - OC-2 ( Octaver )

Postby IggY » 09 Jul 2008, 06:14

Stompmodder wrote:I've found this schematic on the net. I never be a big fan of boss octavers but i ask if is possible to mod this circuit to improve tracking on bass guitar.

the man that drew the diagram could help you here?
http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/i ... ic=58609.0

For this message the author IggY has received thanks:
modman (24 May 2015, 23:05)
IggY
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 14:28
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Boss - OC-2 ( Octaver )

Postby Silent Fly » 09 Jul 2008, 08:44

IggY wrote:
Stompmodder wrote:I've found this schematic on the net. I never be a big fan of boss octavers but i ask if is possible to mod this circuit to improve tracking on bass guitar.

the man that drew the diagram could help you here?
http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/i ... ic=58609.0


Thanks for the link IggY.

In the meantime I run the octave generator circuit (from R8 to the exit of the 4013) in a software simulator and it can track town to 5Hz.

It must be something else that stops the octaver tracking below a much higher frequency... :scratch:
"Remember - all I am offering is the truth, nothing more". Morpheus

For this message the author Silent Fly has received thanks:
modman (24 May 2015, 23:05)
User avatar
Silent Fly
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 423
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 23:40
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 32 times

Boss OC-2; could it do an octave up????

Postby Bernardduur » 10 Jul 2008, 16:40

Hey all!

I know the OC-2 was meant to only do 1 and 2 octaves down...... but I wondered; could it be modded to also add an octave up? Would love to add that to my main sound!

Thanks!
'No more....... loud music.......'
Bernardduur
Transistor Tuner
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: 24 Aug 2007, 08:36
Location: Losser.........
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 300 times

Re: Boss OC-2; could it do an octave up????

Postby Silent Fly » 10 Jul 2008, 16:48

Bernardduur wrote:Hey all!

I know the OC-2 was meant to only do 1 and 2 octaves down...... but I wondered; could it be modded to also add an octave up? Would love to add that to my main sound!

Thanks!


From my understanding of how the circuit works, it isn't possible without any major change. Having said that, I am sure that someone will come up with some clever idea :)
"Remember - all I am offering is the truth, nothing more". Morpheus
User avatar
Silent Fly
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 423
Joined: 27 Feb 2008, 23:40
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 32 times

Re: Boss OC-2; could it do an octave up????

Postby puppiesonacid » 10 Jul 2008, 17:20

looks like someone already has come up with a clever idea.... would love to rip this one apart...


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-MI-Audio-Pollya ... dZViewItem
puppiesonacid
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 646
Joined: 02 Apr 2008, 15:41
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 5 times

Re: Boss OC-2; could it do an octave up????

Postby chromedoutgrillz » 07 Dec 2008, 12:23

Check the Pearl Octaver Schematic,it has an octave up section in it,should be easy to splice onto the Boss (although if you're keeping it in the original box,I can imagine it being a tight squeeze)


Image

http://gaussmarkov.net/wordpress/circuits/octaver-clone

Also worthy of mention would be the circuits at Time Escobedo's site,maybe the Rambler or Digital Octave Fuzz...


http://www.geocities.com/tpe123/folkurban/fuzz/snippets.html
I tried the rambler at one time and it didn't sound too bad,could probably do with some filtering at the end though,as it was quite piercing in tone,IIRC
User avatar
chromedoutgrillz
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Nov 2008, 13:25
Location: God's Back Garden
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Boss - OC-2 Octave

Postby Brainbender » 23 Jul 2010, 11:16

Hello to everyone! :)
I found some guts photos of the MIJ Boss OC-2 Ocrave (not Octaver), so here they are:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

For this message the author Brainbender has received thanks:
modman (01 May 2015, 18:30)
User avatar
Brainbender
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 16 Aug 2009, 14:52
Has thanked: 15 times
Have thanks: 4 times

Re: Boss - OC-2 ( Octaver )

Postby hewie » 07 Apr 2011, 19:48

Here's a verified layout for the vero folks. Verified by me.
bossoc2chopped.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

For this message the author hewie has received thanks: 4
cfredisdead (16 Nov 2012, 03:50), Greenmachine (07 Apr 2011, 20:09), jb351 (12 Apr 2011, 01:31), tp801 (29 May 2011, 09:26)
User avatar
hewie
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 27 Apr 2010, 09:34
Has thanked: 20 times
Have thanks: 44 times

Re: Boss - OC-2 ( Octaver )

Postby hbo » 28 May 2011, 13:47

I'd like to contribute with another vero layout. This one is also without the input buffer, but retains both octaves. I just finished building this and it works great.

Image

For this message the author hbo has received thanks:
tp801 (29 May 2011, 09:26)
hbo
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 101
Joined: 10 Apr 2009, 17:46
Location: Oslo, Norway
Has thanked: 31 times
Have thanks: 199 times

Boss OC-2 debugging *drives me insane*

Postby Didi&Stulle » 24 Feb 2012, 10:44

Dear gentlemen,

a couple of weeks ago I built a Boss OC-2 which since then I'm trying to bring to life, but this very project seems to be suicidal or something :scratch: :? ... it won't just work and sound proper. I'm really desperate and ask for your help.

I built it after Harald Sabros great vero layout:

http://www.sabrotone.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/BossOctaverOC2.gif

That's the link to the schematic:
http://freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=2612&p=141023&hilit=boss+oc+2#p141023

These are thy symptoms:

When activated I'm getting a signal. All pots seem to work and alter the sound but it isn't distorted/fuzzy at all and it is quite muddy. I quadrupel-checked everything, the cuts, the correct values, the wiring. It seems to be okay. I also audio probed it several times but can't make out the spot where the distortion gets lost but I guess this his happening somewhere around IC3 to IC5, can't locate it more precisely.

Measured the voltage and compared it to the ones Harald posted. The only variations I got are at:

IC1: #3 (2,24V), #5 (2,48V), #12 (4,49V)
IC2: #4 (0,01V), #5 (2,84V)
IC3: #8 (7,57V)
IC4: #2 (8,37V), #5 (8,37V), #10 (8,17V), #12 (8,69V)
IC5: #3 (8,37V)

Any help is highly appreciated. I'm really desperate with this build.
Didi&Stulle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 May 2010, 08:55
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 11 times

Re: Boss OC-2 debugging *drives me insane*

Postby Didi&Stulle » 27 Feb 2012, 14:19

bumpidy
Didi&Stulle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 May 2010, 08:55
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 11 times

Re: Boss OC-2 debugging *drives me insane*

Postby Didi&Stulle » 21 Mar 2012, 11:21

bump bump!

No one?
PLEAZE!
Didi&Stulle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 May 2010, 08:55
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 11 times

Re: Boss OC-2 debugging *drives me insane*

Postby jorgezorro » 23 Mar 2012, 21:04

Do you have the schematic that matches your Vero layout? (You have a link to the Chopped schematic, which doesn't have an IC5).

Otherwise, it might be worth probing again. Try probing the input at each op amp and again at the output.
User avatar
jorgezorro
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 30 Jul 2010, 00:39
Location: Seattle
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 2 times

Re: Boss OC-2 debugging *drives me insane*

Postby Dirk_Hendrik » 23 Mar 2012, 21:33

Sorry for my possible ignorance but where do you expect to get distortion in an OC2? That's the octaver isn't it? By my best knowledge and experience it's not supposed to produce a distorted signal. :scratch:
Sorry. Plain out of planes.

http://www.dirk-hendrik.com
User avatar
Dirk_Hendrik
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 3867
Joined: 03 Jul 2007, 09:44
Location: Old Amsterdam
Has thanked: 215 times
Have thanks: 880 times

Re: Boss - OC-2 ( Octaver )

Postby Bernardduur » 24 Jul 2012, 19:28

Just got a new unit in; turns out that the BA634 was replaced by a second 14013

OC-2 new.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
'No more....... loud music.......'

For this message the author Bernardduur has received thanks:
modman (24 May 2015, 23:05)
Bernardduur
Transistor Tuner
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: 24 Aug 2007, 08:36
Location: Losser.........
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 300 times

Re: Boss - OC-2 ( Octaver )

Postby Effectsiation » 31 Jul 2012, 16:12

Bernardduur wrote:Just got a new unit in; turns out that the BA634 was replaced by a second 14013

OC-2 new.JPG



Is the tracking better on this new unit?


I'd still like to build a Foxrox Octron one day, but no one ever finished tracing it to the best of my knowledge, writing it off as an OC-2 clone. I wish that we could just document all the changes anyway for a proper vero build of that.
User avatar
Effectsiation
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 09 May 2008, 19:18
Has thanked: 7 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Boss - OC-2 ( Octaver )

Postby skrogh » 02 Aug 2012, 22:57

The first schematic posted isn't of the Boss OC-2, but a modded "chopped version"

Forewords:
Before diving into OC-2 modding it is important to know, that three different versions exist: The old Japanese, the old Taiwanese and the "new" Taiwanese.
The old Jap. and Tai are identical, while the newer Tai has some different ICs, a different PCB and a different power-section.
-The different IC's should not make a difference. (There is some hype about Jap's sounding better, tracking better and being full of magic. I don't buy it.)
-The different PCB made production cheaper and accords for the changed ICs.
-The different power-section allows the newer Tai to operate on a 9v regulated supply, whereas the old ones required a, I think it was, 9.6v non regulated.

The easiest way to spot the difference is to locate the psu jack. If its PCB mounted, it's the new, if not, its the old.

Schematics only exist (to my knowledge) of the old one. http://www.hobby-hour.com/electronics/s/oc2-octave.php Both schematic and PCB of the old is listed here.

On Improving tracking on bass:

Technique
First of all it is very important to notice, that technique and string age plays a big role in OC-2 tracking.
With my old strings and good technique, I get good tracking down to G. And can get it to hold the low E for just a moment.
Play with your right hand (left for lefties) fingers close to the neck.
Play up the neck, avoid open strings and frets close to the nut.
Mute ALL other strings, than the one you are playing. Especially when playing close to the 12'th fret, make sure to mute the strings properly. If more than one string rings out, the OC-2 will have a very hard time, guessing what you are playing. Remember it's monophonic.

Dead spots
Around ~5-9 fret on the G string the OC-2 will always (on most basses) sound like crap. This is due to the deadspot. Deal with it, and play those notes on another string.

"Not tracking" or "sounding like shit"
Many people confuse "not traking" and "sounding like shit". When I said I get good tracking down to G, that was true. BUT it sounds like shit, when playing down there. "not tracking" sounds like either noise or an appegiator on acid (or simply an unoctaved note), "sounding like skit" sounds like a broken car, or something flapping.
Octaving a note at 55Hz(low A) will produce a note of 22.5 Hz - that's very close to what is inaudible.

Don't overdirve it
The OC-2 doesn't have a lot of headroom, I can easily overdrive it with my active bass. If it distorts (especially on the E sting), turn down the volume of your bass.

Improving tracking electronically
If after perfecting your technique, you still find the tracking of the OC-2 lacing, well it is meant for guitar. Tuning some of the filters might produce a better result.
Double C21, C5 and C4. This limits treble to the tracker.
Double or tripple C22 and C23. These are the most important c
aps to fiddle with. I personally haven't changed the ones in mine, but have simulated it and it seemed to work.


All information is obtained through own experimentation, and is by no means a complete answer, but a poke in the right direction.
Happy modding!

For this message the author skrogh has received thanks: 2
cfredisdead (16 Nov 2012, 03:48), modman (24 May 2015, 23:05)
skrogh
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Jul 2011, 14:27
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 2 times



  • Advertisement

Return to Modern Stompbox Effects (1975 - ...)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests