GCB-95 Crybaby Wah Mods

A forum devoted to mod, tips and suggestions for upgrading and rehousing your VERY CHEAP commercial stompbox to near boutique excellence.
phil esposito
Information

Post by phil esposito »

Hi All,

I'm a bit of a noob at this so I'm hoping some one can give me a quick answer. I've done the mod's as listed:

http://www.diyguitarist.com/DIYStompboxes/WahMod.htm

390 - 330
1.5K - 1.8K
33K - 47K
.01uF > .022uF

I haven't performed the true bypass yet but plan to.

I'm getting some nice results. However, I'm still getting a sharp peak on the sweep from bass to trebles. Someone described it as the peak of the mountain be too high too quick which is a good anology.

I'm curious if that sharp peak is due to the original inductor being not so great? I'm going to socket the resistors and try to see if I can flatten it that way.

Thanks!!

azrael
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by azrael »

Try raising the 1.8K more, to maybe 2ish kilo ohms.

Also, try reindexing the pot. That is, change which part of the taper it rotates through by physically moving the sweep a bit.

phil esposito
Information

Post by phil esposito »

azrael wrote:Try raising the 1.8K more, to maybe 2ish kilo ohms.

Also, try reindexing the pot. That is, change which part of the taper it rotates through by physically moving the sweep a bit.
Thanks for the reply! I'll try that this eve and give you an update.

I was doing some more digging...from what I can gather it is the 1.5k resistor, Q1 transistor, or a bad pot. Maybe I'll try to do a sound clip if the resistor change doesn't help.

alnico
Information

Post by alnico »

Put the 33K back if you want it less peaky?

phil esposito
Information

Post by phil esposito »

alnico wrote:Put the 33K back if you want it less peaky?
Thanks! I just read that....I think I'm going to put it back to see if that helps. It was peaky before I made the made changes so that tells me there is probably something more to this. :scratch:

D-Day