A Problem with DIY fuzz stompbox FX pedal

Forum dedicated to helping people debug and troubleshoot non-functional pedals or builds. Please use an clear and informative title, indicating circuit and basic problem. Don't forget to mark the issue as fixed if this is the case.
Amynio
Information

Post by Amynio »

Hello!
Here is my First post. :popcorn:

I was wanting some help with a fuzz pedal kit I recently bought on ebay. I'm relatively new to electronics and I'm no genius in this area, but I've been really frustrated for the past few days. I built this circuitboard exactly as I was instructed, yet it doesn't work and I can't figure out why.

The guy never send me a circuit diagram, but instead, more of a literal interpretation of what it would look like. Here it is -

If that is a little hard to make out, here is my own circuit diagram that I drew up
(I apologize in advance for the poor quality and clarity of the diagram, I've never drawn one before)
This is the DIODE in the circuit diagram 2N3904 http://www.kynix.com/Detail/1243138/2N3 ... T%2FP.html and 1N4148 DIODE GEN PURP 75V 150MA SOD523
When the switch is off, and the effect is bypassed, the guitar sounds fine, as if it was plugged in to the amp with no alteration to the sound. When I turn the switch on, I get a really crappy result. If the potentiometer is turned all the way to the left, I get a little bit of the original signal, but it's quiet and a bit lo-fi. When I turn the potentiometer to the right, I lose sound altogether... silence.

Another thing worth mentioning is that it doesn't seem to make a difference whether the battery is plugged in or not. I've tested the battery with a voltmeter and it's definetely working and has a lot of juice. I've also tested the battery socket on a breadboard incase the socket was faulty, but the socket is working fine too.