Timmy clone wiring

All frequent questions on switching: true or not true bypass, transistor-based or mechanical.
chuls
Information

Post by chuls »

Hello,

I'm very new to building pedals, and I don't know much about how the wiring should be for pedals.
I've started building a timmy clone following the vero layout bellow.

http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.co.uk/2 ... timmy.html

The only problem is I'm not sure where the the ground from the volume pot and circuit board are supposed to go and the output from the volume pot.
I have been using the bellow image for wiring ideas, but it doesn't include the extra ground on the volume pot and output from the vol pot.

http://www.co-bw.com/Images_DIY/fig8.gif

I have already blown a circuit board, so any help will be much appreciated.
Thank you in advance =]

Nocentelli
Tube Twister
Information

Post by Nocentelli »

All the grounds should be connected, so you just need to solder volume lug 1 to any point that is connected to ground: You could wire it to the input ground or output ground, or to somewhere on the ground rail on IvIark's layout, e.g. the hole directly above the drive 2 connection. The circuit board ground needs to be connected to battery/power supply negative AND the input/enclosure ground. Basically ALL grounds need to be connected (icluding power negative) but it doesn't really matter how you accomplish this. The output from the volume pot goes to the footswitch: On the second image you've linked to, this connection is shown as an output wire from the board, but on the timmy (and most pedals with a passive output/volume pot) it comes from lug 2, not the board itself. Hope this helps, good luck and report back if you're still stuck.
modman wrote: Let's hope it's not a hit, because soldering up the same pedal everyday, is a sad life. It's that same ole devilish double bind again...

chuls
Information

Post by chuls »

Thanks for the reply Nocentelli,