Simple wiring question (No Battery Snap)

All frequent questions on switching: true or not true bypass, transistor-based or mechanical.
oceansofregret
Information

Post by oceansofregret »

Hello,

Building myself a creamy dreamer clone and I'm still pretty new to this.

I want to NOT use a battery snap at all since the pedal will always be plugged in on my board.
Can I use a mono jack instead of a stereo for the input? Every True Bypass wiring diagram I find seems to have a stereo input jack and a battery snap.
Can anyone point me to one that does not?
Can this even be done.

Sorry for being a noob.

PokeyPete
Resistor Ronker
Information

Post by PokeyPete »

The stereo jack is used as an on/off switch....plug the guitar cable into the input and it completes the ground connection
and powers on your circuit. You can use a mono jack if you do not want or need this feature. It's very handy when
using a battery though.
“No man is so foolish but he may sometimes give another
good counsel, and no man so wise that he may not easily err
if he takes no other counsel than his own. He that is taught
only by himself has a fool for a master.”
–Hunter S. Thompson

oceansofregret
Information

Post by oceansofregret »

PokeyPete wrote: You can use a mono jack if you do not want or need this feature. It's very handy when
using a battery though.
Thanks for the reply my question tho is... what Changes with the wiring using a mono jack instead of a stereo jack? what gets soldered to what?

PokeyPete
Resistor Ronker
Information

Post by PokeyPete »

With the stereo jack, the power (V-) connects to the ring connector of the jack. Since the guitar cable is mono and has
no ring, when the plug is inserted it simply connects the ring and sleeve of the jack together. Now, in your case, all
you would do is connect the V- straight to the input sleeve (or some other 'ground' point).