Power supply

Ok, you got your soldering iron and nothing is going to hold you back, but you have no clue where to start or what to build. There were others before you with the same questions... read them first.

Power supply

Postby stuntman mike » 21 Mar 2011, 09:11

Hello. I am new to stompbox building and can't wait to finish my first pedal. I have been reading as much as I can and am pretty sure I could build a from schematic with the component values already there. My only problem is about power supply... Is the way I've been reading about powering (by dividing the 9v and with the + at the schematic top and the - at the bottom/ground), is this a standard method - because sometimes it seems left out of some schematics? Do some stompboxes have other battery inputs and why? As I say I'm new to this so it's probably a dumb question. Thanks! :) :)
stuntman mike

Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Power supply

Postby DrNomis » 21 Mar 2011, 10:12

stuntman mike wrote:Hello. I am new to stompbox building and can't wait to finish my first pedal. I have been reading as much as I can and am pretty sure I could build a from schematic with the component values already there. My only problem is about power supply... Is the way I've been reading about powering (by dividing the 9v and with the + at the schematic top and the - at the bottom/ground), is this a standard method - because sometimes it seems left out of some schematics? Do some stompboxes have other battery inputs and why? As I say I'm new to this so it's probably a dumb question. Thanks! :) :)

Yeah, I agree, sometimes the power supply is left off a stompbox schematic, usually the convention is to have the + of the power supply at the top of the schematic, this is the case for schematics using a Negative grounding system, occasionally, you'll come across schematics which employ a Positive ground system, usually for old fuzz stompboxes which use PNP Germanium transistors.... :)

Hope that helps.... :)