<BOM> Help with the parts list, Bill Of Materials

Ok, you got your soldering iron and nothing is going to hold you back, but you have no clue where to start or what to build. There were others before you with the same questions... read them first.
gibsualdo
Information

Post by gibsualdo »

Hi, first off I should state that I'm a total noob when it comes to building pedals. After checking out the DIY kits at BYOC, I figure it'd be a lot cheaper to just buy their PCBs and the rest of the parts from a component retailer. I've decided I want to try and build a DOD 440 clone as my first build, but after reading the parts list provided with their instructions, there's a few points that I'm not sure about.

Firstly, which type of resistors should I use? I have no idea which power rating, tolerance or element types I need. As for capacitors, "aluminium electrolytic" seems pretty self-explanatory (my components source stocks solid aluminium electrolytic capacitors), but as for film capacitors (non-electrolytic?) there is ceramic, polyester, polypropylene and others to choose between. With the diodes, there are different voltage and current ratings avaliable. Also, there's the matter of which 4558 dual op amp, all with varying voltage, bandwidth and slew rate options. Finally what current and voltage would the LED need to be?

Sorry for all these questions, I know I could probably find the answer to them by reading for a few hours, but I just want to attempt a single pedal for now. If that goes well, then I 'll probably start on the reading material. I just don't want to waste precious time, on something that I may not even end up making much use of (the whole pedal building thing may or may not be for me). Here's a link to the BYOC instructions for the DOD 440 clone for anyone interested - http://buildyourownclone.com/filterinstructions.pdf

super velcroboy
Information

Post by super velcroboy »