Board repair and fixing chips/cracks around components

Ok, you got your soldering iron and nothing is going to hold you back, but you have no clue where to start or what to build. There were others before you with the same questions... read them first.
Coreymcd22
Information

Post by Coreymcd22 »

FOTD882.JPG
I'm a beginner who started a mod a while back. I made the mistake of trying to persuade a desoldered component out with pliers a little too much and I chipped the board around it. Do I need epoxy glue/pen or is this is a different kind of problem? I've included a picture so hopefully someone has seen this happen before. It's on the right side. Thanks!

DrNomis
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: Self-Built Valve Amp Head :)
Completed builds: Dallas Arbiter Fuzz Face,Tone Bender Professional Mk 3,Tone Bender 3-Knob,Baja BK Butler Tube Driver,Baja Real Tube Overdrive,Roger Mayer Octavia,EH Soul Preacher,Tech 21 XXL Distortion,MFOS Weird Sound Generator.

Post by DrNomis »

With a bit of luck the chip/crack hasn't gone any deeper than the thickness of the lacquer covering the circuit board tracks, you can use a multimeter set to a low ohms range to check that the PCB track underneath the chip/crack hasn't been damaged, a zero-ohms reading should indicate that the track is okay..... :thumbsup
Genius is not all about 99% perspiration, and 1% inspiration - sometimes the solution is staring you right in the face.-Frequencycentral.

Coreymcd22
Information

Post by Coreymcd22 »

Cool, but I also forgot to include that I can't get solder to form there anymore so it looks like a repair of some kind is in order.

Ice-9
Degoop Doctor
Information
my favorite amplifier: Marshall
Completed builds: Far to many to afford the enclosures for them all. :)

Post by Ice-9 »

Just bridge it with a piece of cut off lead from a resistor, or a piece of wire should do the trick. :wink: