Rockbox - Boiling Point  [traced]

General documentation, gut shot, schematic links, ongoing circuit tracing, deep thoughts ... all about boutique stompboxes.
tsmith
Information

Post by tsmith »

First post here although I've been lurking for awhile. Just saw this on a proguitarshop demo and thought I'd start a discussion. In the demo they actually show a gut shot which I've attached. I'm a noob by all definitions but I see an unmarked op amp and diodes/LED combinations so I'm thinking tubescreamer variant? $350 dollar price tag... gulp. It does sound pretty nice.
Attachments
rockbox.jpg

TheLemon
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by TheLemon »

Modded Rat or Tubescreamer

culturejam
Old Solderhand
Information

Post by culturejam »

Since there's an op amp and two transistors, I'm guessing it's some kind of 808-based circuit. I see LEDs and asymmetric silicon diodes, which I assume are for clipping (what else would they be?).

It's also possible it's Rat with some kind of single-tranny boost on the front end and the usual 2N5458 JFET output buffer on the back end.

But the use of carbon comps for certain resistors while the rest are metal film makes me think it's an 808 derivative. I've seen DIY'ers and boutiquers both do this.

But who knows? It might be something that just looks a lot like a Screamer. Anything is possible. :wink:

candletears7
Solder Soldier
Information

Post by candletears7 »