Boss - CE-3 Chorus Ensemble  [schematic]

All about modern commercial stompbox circuits from Electro Harmonix over MXR, Boss and Ibanez into the nineties.

Boss - CE-3 Chorus Ensemble  [schematic]

Postby indyguitarist » 29 Aug 2007, 14:08

At aron's I found this link

Not a valid link anymore, anyone have this schem?
Thanks,
Brian


Link
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by modman on 25 May 2015, 11:55, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: re-upped the schematic
indyguitarist
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 378
Joined: 11 Jul 2007, 03:25
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 154 times

Re: Boss - CE-3 ( Chorus )

Postby puppiesonacid » 22 Feb 2009, 21:17

I speculate that the way huge blue hippo chorus is a modified CE-3. this is based on an interview I read with Jeorge Tripps (that I can't remember) that some semi famous artist brought his CE-3 to him and he modified it. short thereafter Way Huge came out with the blue hippo chorus pedal. Just speculating but hey who knows... maybe we could look into it. briefly looking at the blue hippo gut shot I would say its a close match.


puppiesonacid
puppiesonacid
Cap Cooler
 
Posts: 646
Joined: 02 Apr 2008, 15:41
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 5 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby flood » 27 Oct 2009, 06:34

i have a CE-3, didn't think all that much of it. will take gutshots and upload.

never taken gutshots before... any resolution i should be aiming for?

maybe i can shoot the pic with my dad's eos ds1 mkIII :D i don't think we'll have any resolution hitches then!

will take a decent pic... in the meantime, here is some info for you:

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/sho ... ?t=2267693

http://www.synthdiy.com/files/2007/bossce-3.jpg

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/sho ... p=30667465
In the interest of full disclosure, I am Animal Factory Amplification.
flood
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 283
Joined: 06 Oct 2007, 20:56
Location: Bombay, India
Has thanked: 11 times
Have thanks: 17 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby kaluablue » 27 Oct 2009, 10:37

Hi
Beto Crazy posted a bunch of Boss schematics and service manuals including the CE3:
http://freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6088&hilit=boss#p63964
I think the CE3 is underrated ... There are some tricks built in: it can do that vibrato thing, it has a volume compensation and provides some more low frequencies. Features, people were asking for regarding the CE2 ...
Stock it doesn't sound very interesting, so that's the reason to mod it.

- Do the speed mod: either reduce C28 to .047 or reduce R52 to 470k (the latter is much easier to do, because the .1 cap is glued to the TL022 chip). Both will double the max speed of the modulation.
- increase the delay time: change R40 from 150k to 180k. This will increase the depth of the modulation. (just play with that, perhaps put a trimmer in at first. The delay time also influences the overall voice of the effect.)
- Aditionally you can tailor the bass response to your liking with C21. For me it sounded too boxy, so I reduced that to 0.033 - original CE2 value. (the bass choruses CE2b and CE3b both came with 0.012 stock ...)
- alter the volume compensation R18 (when the effect is on, this resistor is parallelled to R19 in the feedback loop of the first opamp stage, thus reducing the gain of dry and wet signal.) Make this one bigger to get a slightly stronger effect signal, or just remove it completely.
-Finally replace the electrolytic caps C3, C7 and C8 with quality film caps and the 4558 opamps with NE5532 or OPA2134 or or or ... for more hifi.

At least this is what i have done to mine ;-) and it's a very tasty chorus now.

Have a nice day :-)
kaluablue
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Aug 2008, 12:01
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby cpm » 27 Oct 2009, 11:36

i got one CE3 in for minor work: lifting the diode to ground, the power supply issue with early adapters

the fact is i liked how it sounds, so i bought one cheap off ebay, it on its way right now.
User avatar
cpm
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 277
Joined: 29 Oct 2008, 10:55
Location: spain
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 50 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby kaluablue » 28 Oct 2009, 08:55

... a little more on topic than my previous post :oops: ...
There are two good pics, both sides of the board, on http://bossarea.com/forum/ in their 'Internal Pictures of Boss & Other pedals' thread, page 2.
But I think anyone here would appreciate more pics :-)

When searching for information about the CE3 myself some time ago, I was a litttle disappointed about finding almost nothing here on FSB.

Have a nice day :-)
kaluablue
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Aug 2008, 12:01
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby abfackeln » 28 Oct 2009, 11:31

Gut shots as promised.....
This appears to be an "older" unit - uses the ACA (12v) adapter.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

For this message the author abfackeln has received thanks:
modman (25 May 2015, 11:53)
User avatar
abfackeln
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 10:58
Location: 36.232337, -80.293743
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 41 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby Rocket Roll » 28 Oct 2009, 22:12

From service manual:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

For this message the author Rocket Roll has received thanks:
modman (25 May 2015, 11:56)
User avatar
Rocket Roll
Solder Soldier
 
Posts: 214
Joined: 27 Mar 2008, 09:25
Location: Belgrade
Has thanked: 6 times
Have thanks: 26 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby himister » 28 Oct 2009, 23:54

Good job Rocket. Thanks :wink: One small thing..I would like to know exact width and length of the pcb..if it's not much to ask. Metric please... :oops:


x-ray copy.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
himister
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 07 May 2009, 01:48
Has thanked: 26 times
Have thanks: 25 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby abfackeln » 29 Oct 2009, 00:48

You know us yanks can't handle metric!

Length = 8.9cm
Width = 6cm
Image
User avatar
abfackeln
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 10:58
Location: 36.232337, -80.293743
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 41 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby KindaFuzzy » 29 Oct 2009, 01:11

Finally a pedal I have, that I can share gut shots. Mine must be newer, I bought it in the late '90s for $50 at the hock shop.

Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
KindaFuzzy
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 646
Joined: 10 Nov 2008, 15:00
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 104 times
Have thanks: 296 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby rocklander » 29 Oct 2009, 01:49

abfackeln wrote:Gut shots as promised.....
This appears to be an "older" unit - uses the ACA (12v) adapter.

I have the same model (so if any more pics are needed I'm happy to do some too), but what's the deal with the 12V supply?
why can it take a 9V battery, but DC from adapter needs to be 12V. it's the main reason I don't gig mine and am building a small clone instead :?

can they be tweaked to take the 9V supply?
world's greatest tautologist ...in the world

Ronsonic wrote:...the lower the stakes the more vicious the combat.

User avatar
rocklander
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 2887
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 12:33
Location: Rotorua, New Zealand
Has thanked: 1559 times
Have thanks: 287 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby abfackeln » 29 Oct 2009, 02:00

rocklander wrote:I have the same model (so if any more pics are needed I'm happy to do some too), but what's the deal with the 12V supply?
why can it take a 9V battery, but DC from adapter needs to be 12V. it's the main reason I don't gig mine and am building a small clone instead :?

can they be tweaked to take the 9V supply?


Looks like it....

The early compact pedals was designed to run on either a 9V DC battery or 12V DC adapter. Because of this the ACA adapter was a 12V adapter. The voltage was reduced to 9V internally by using a 470 Ohm resistor and 1S2473 diode between the minus input on the power jack and ground. The resistor diode pair was later removed and at the same time the ACA adpater was redesigned to output 9V instead.
Taken from this page:
http://www.bossarea.com/other/aca.asp
Image
User avatar
abfackeln
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 10:58
Location: 36.232337, -80.293743
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 41 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby rocklander » 29 Oct 2009, 02:09

abfackeln wrote:
rocklander wrote:I have the same model (so if any more pics are needed I'm happy to do some too), but what's the deal with the 12V supply?
why can it take a 9V battery, but DC from adapter needs to be 12V. it's the main reason I don't gig mine and am building a small clone instead :?

can they be tweaked to take the 9V supply?


Looks like it....

The early compact pedals was designed to run on either a 9V DC battery or 12V DC adapter. Because of this the ACA adapter was a 12V adapter. The voltage was reduced to 9V internally by using a 470 Ohm resistor and 1S2473 diode between the minus input on the power jack and ground. The resistor diode pair was later removed and at the same time the ACA adpater was redesigned to output 9V instead.
Taken from this page:
http://www.bossarea.com/other/aca.asp


nice.. that mod would make it more usable for me at least.. thanks :applause:
world's greatest tautologist ...in the world

Ronsonic wrote:...the lower the stakes the more vicious the combat.

User avatar
rocklander
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 2887
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 12:33
Location: Rotorua, New Zealand
Has thanked: 1559 times
Have thanks: 287 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby cpm » 29 Oct 2009, 06:10

rocklander wrote:nice.. that mod would make it more usable for me at least.. thanks :applause:


locate the (-) connection on the board from the DC jack. the pad right besides it is GND (fro the battery), so just put a small jumper.
User avatar
cpm
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 277
Joined: 29 Oct 2008, 10:55
Location: spain
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 50 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby whosyourdaddy » 10 Nov 2009, 13:30

Cheers, any progress here? :|
Has anyone redrawn this? [smilie=a_ohyahbaby.gif]
whosyourdaddy
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 12 Jul 2009, 13:15
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 6 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby himister » 10 Nov 2009, 13:59

whosyourdaddy wrote:Cheers, any progress here? :|
Has anyone redrawn this? [smilie=a_ohyahbaby.gif]


Maybe someone would like to try using this technique.
Corel or Inkscape would be the answer.

Komšija dali si zainteresovan?
:wink:
User avatar
himister
Resistor Ronker
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 07 May 2009, 01:48
Has thanked: 26 times
Have thanks: 25 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby batteryacidtea » 09 Dec 2009, 04:41

I need to true-bypass one of those. Can anybody explain how do I remove the buffers?
batteryacidtea
Breadboard Brother
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 18 Feb 2009, 04:42
Has thanked: 57 times
Have thanks: 15 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby Dirk_Hendrik » 09 Dec 2009, 19:06

KindaFuzzy wrote:Image


As that a crack on that 4558?
Sorry. Plain out of planes.

http://www.dirk-hendrik.com
User avatar
Dirk_Hendrik
Old Solderhand
 
Posts: 4131
Joined: 03 Jul 2007, 09:44
Location: Old Amsterdam
Has thanked: 247 times
Have thanks: 985 times

Re: Boss CE-3 Chorus

Postby KindaFuzzy » 09 Dec 2009, 21:29

No, not a crack, good eye though. I opened it up and it was just a hair or something stuck to the chip.
User avatar
KindaFuzzy
Degoop Doctor
 
Posts: 646
Joined: 10 Nov 2008, 15:00
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 104 times
Have thanks: 296 times

Next

Return to Modern Stompbox Effects (1975 - ...)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ballfire and 13 guests