Voodoo Lab - Micro Vibe  [schematic]

All about modern commercial stompbox circuits from Electro Harmonix over MXR, Boss and Ibanez into the nineties.
User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 2585
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 21:38
Has thanked: 296 times
Been thanked: 192 times

Post by lolbou »

joeboo88 wrote:Is there something wrong with viewing the schematic or is it just me, Happy b day to you Lolbou! :mrgreen:
It's displayed as a thumbnail, but you just have to click it and save image as... And thanks Joe! :wink:

BTW I did a minor correction : one black spot between R11 and C6 missing, and relabelled the switch. I'll be finishing the multilayer .svg file later on, so there will somehow be a cloned double-sided PCB available. But considering the second-hand price of the unit and its quality, you'd better buy one than DIY it... :hmmm:
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.

User avatar
Dirk_Hendrik
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 4144
Joined: 03 Jul 2007, 08:44
Location: Old Amsterdam
Has thanked: 221 times
Been thanked: 838 times
Contact:

Post by Dirk_Hendrik »

me likes a lot! :thumbsup
Sorry. Plain out of planes.

http://www.dirk-hendrik.com

User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 2585
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 21:38
Has thanked: 296 times
Been thanked: 192 times

Post by lolbou »

Dirk_Hendrik wrote:me likes a lot! :thumbsup
Your help and tips on the Dunlop reversing were more than useful with this one... :hug:
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.

User avatar
Dirk_Hendrik
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 4144
Joined: 03 Jul 2007, 08:44
Location: Old Amsterdam
Has thanked: 221 times
Been thanked: 838 times
Contact:

Post by Dirk_Hendrik »

Not at all laddie. You're doing this. Not me. So it's you whe deserves all credits :thumbsup
Sorry. Plain out of planes.

http://www.dirk-hendrik.com

User avatar
tictac
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 145
Joined: 27 Nov 2008, 07:30
Been thanked: 10 times

Post by tictac »

I can't see the schematic either; I get a blank page when I click on it...

User avatar
theehman
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 691
Joined: 16 Aug 2007, 16:52
Location: Clear Creek, IN
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 99 times
Contact:

Post by theehman »

tictac wrote:I can't see the schematic either; I get a blank page when I click on it...
Works OK for me. I'm using Firefox.
Ron Neely II
Electro-Harmonix info: http://electroharmonix.vintageusaguitars.com
Home of RonSound effects: http://www.ronsound.com
fx schematics and repairs

User avatar
atreidesheir
Diode Debunker
Information
Posts: 730
Joined: 27 Apr 2010, 00:56
my favorite amplifier: thd univalve
Location: Nashville
Has thanked: 444 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Post by atreidesheir »

I see the schem in firefox very well.
This is my favorite univibe type pedal. It also works great to replace a Phase 90 with the depth below 12oclock. Voodoo Labs really should be praised for everything they make. It is all top notch.

I have a voodoo labs tremolo out in my storage shed. Also a very great pedal. The cream of tremolos to me. Do we have one on the forum? I cannot find it using search, but that has been glitchy for me lately.
"Contemplate it - on the tree of woe." :Thulsa Doom

User avatar
eddie_bowers
Information
Posts: 16
Joined: 10 Dec 2009, 16:39

Post by eddie_bowers »

Anyone ever trace this?
I'm also would like to modify mine to be a bit brighter if possible.

User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 2585
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 21:38
Has thanked: 296 times
Been thanked: 192 times

Post by lolbou »

eddie_bowers wrote:Anyone ever trace this?
Yes, I did. It's here : viewtopic.php?p=158132#p158132.

Have a little search next time... :wink:
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.

User avatar
kymar
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 55
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 14:49
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Post by kymar »

on gutshots C4 looks to be 470nf not 47nf

User avatar
lolbou
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 2585
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 21:38
Has thanked: 296 times
Been thanked: 192 times

Post by lolbou »

kymar wrote:on gutshots C4 looks to be 470nf not 47nf
Spot on! :thumbsup Though the cap in my unit looks like this:
cap.jpg
cap.jpg (23.55 KiB) Viewed 3045 times
This is a dot indeed, my mistake. Let me update the schem, will you? :wink:
- Are you a mod or a rocker?
- Uh, no, I'm a mocker.

User avatar
RnFR
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 4882
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 06:02
my favorite amplifier: Traynor YBA-III, Fender Super Six
Completed builds: custom fuzz.
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Contact:

Post by RnFR »

topics merged. :roll: how long you been workin here?
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO

User avatar
EddieTavares
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 114
Joined: 12 Jan 2010, 13:43
my favorite amplifier: marshall
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Post by EddieTavares »

Very good

User avatar
clapointe
Information
Posts: 22
Joined: 25 Aug 2010, 17:41

Post by clapointe »

I did the R2 mod where you remove the resistor and replace with a jumper wire ! Sound great and almost double the speed !

User avatar
mysticwhiskey
Solder Soldier
Information
Posts: 227
Joined: 03 Jul 2010, 09:55
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Post by mysticwhiskey »

Here's a layout I made for the Micro Vibe using lolbou's schematic. Confirmed working - I finished it today, just need to box it up. This layout omits the H11F3 photo fet optocoupler and associated bits, and just uses a regular 3PDT stomp switch.
Voodoo Labs Microvibe PCB Layout. Ver 1.0 20111028 1831 With Parts Lists.png
Substiutions I did:
Used a 120K resistor instead of 118K
Used a 6K8 resistor instead of 6K2
Used TL062 opamps instead of JRC062D

For the LDR's I used Waitrony KE-10720 that I got from Tayda Electronics. For the lamp, you'll probably want to use a low-current one like 30mA or so.

User avatar
mysticwhiskey
Solder Soldier
Information
Posts: 227
Joined: 03 Jul 2010, 09:55
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Post by mysticwhiskey »

Some build pics:
VLMV_Build_ComponentSide2.jpg
VLMV_Build_ComponentSide3.jpg
VLMV_Build_LDRLamp.jpg
VLMV_Build_SolderSide.jpg
Onboard pots are ghetto-stylee, using resistor lead offcuts to mount on the solder-side of the board :lol: Also note the 6n8 and 8n2 caps in parallel as I was all out of 15nF caps.

For the lamp, I used a 12V 40mA one that Smallbear sells as a UniVibe replacement. I initially tried to use a 9V 60mA lamp that I bought for the project, but the current draw was too high to be able to drive it with the single 2N3904. I then tried a darlington pair of 2N3904's in place of Q3 and whilst the lamp now lit up, it didn't sound that great (very choppy). I then put in the 12V lamp with the single 2N3904 and it sounds so much better. I didn't use a protection resistor in my build, but the layout I posted gives the option to do so if you want.

The PCB will fit in a 1590BB enclosure width-wise (just barely).

And thanks for tracing the pedal and making the schematic lolbou :thumbsup

User avatar
mysticwhiskey
Solder Soldier
Information
Posts: 227
Joined: 03 Jul 2010, 09:55
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Post by mysticwhiskey »

mysticwhiskey wrote:The PCB will fit in a 1590BB enclosure width-wise (just barely)
:slap: I meant the PCB will fit in the 1590BB in 'portrait' mode, the board is 86mm wide.

User avatar
jrc4558
Solder Soldier
Information
Posts: 171
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 07:13
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by jrc4558 »

Wow, that a neat layout! I gotta try it! :)
gentlemen, does anyone here know how to get it to print in the proper size to properly align with the lead spacing of the ICs? Alternatively - I can rebuild it in ExpressPCB and export a vector for those who wish to build.

User avatar
mysticwhiskey
Solder Soldier
Information
Posts: 227
Joined: 03 Jul 2010, 09:55
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Post by mysticwhiskey »

Thanks - I created the image at 600 dpi, so if you print at 100% scaling it should come out correct. If you're printing on a Mac using Preview, just change the scaling to '100%' in the print dialog. On Windows, download Irfanview and on the print dialog make sure 'Original size (from image DPI)' is selected in the 'Print Size' section.

User avatar
jrc4558
Solder Soldier
Information
Posts: 171
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 07:13
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by jrc4558 »

You sir are a gentleman and a scholar!
Off to etching!

Post Reply