Caline - English Man  [schematic]

All about modern commercial stompbox circuits from Electro Harmonix over MXR, Boss and Ibanez into the nineties.
Post Reply
User avatar
Manfred
Opamp Operator
Information
Posts: 1411
Joined: 04 Apr 2009, 23:42
Has thanked: 1234 times
Been thanked: 861 times

Post by Manfred »

I traced the Caline English Man pedal,
here the schematic of it.
CalineEnglishMan2.JPG

User avatar
Manfred
Opamp Operator
Information
Posts: 1411
Joined: 04 Apr 2009, 23:42
Has thanked: 1234 times
Been thanked: 861 times

Post by Manfred »

Oh, I forgot, i made curve traces of the clipping LEDs too.
CalineEnglishManClippingLEDs.jpg

User avatar
mirosol
Resistor Ronker
Information
Posts: 265
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 16:15
my favorite amplifier: Been on Bogner for quite some time now.
Completed builds: Over 1000 and counting.
Location: TKU, FI
Has thanked: 162 times
Been thanked: 384 times

Post by mirosol »

So it's a single channel c. martin plexitone. :)
+m
http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.com/
http://mirosol.kapsi.fi/
"No such thing as innocence" -Iron Chic

User avatar
Andy2No
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 82
Joined: 23 Sep 2015, 16:33
Has thanked: 150 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Post by Andy2No »

Thanks, Manfred.

It looks like the TC1044S doubles the supply voltage, so it's permanently 18V internal? Those can be a source of high pitched whine, if things aren't quite right, of course.

I don't see a volume knob, in the schematic. I assume it's a 100K pot, or maybe a 10k pot, across the output?

It would be nice to see some gut shots. I had assumed all of Caline's analog pedals were through-hole, but I see the Red Devil isn't, from mirosol's picture of it:

http://www.freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=28774

I have modified a couple of pedals built with SMD parts, like that, but it's pushing the limit of what I can do, and I'd far rather work on through-hole ones, like the Orange Burst and Pure Sky.

User avatar
Manfred
Opamp Operator
Information
Posts: 1411
Joined: 04 Apr 2009, 23:42
Has thanked: 1234 times
Been thanked: 861 times

Post by Manfred »

I don't see a volume knob, in the schematic.
You cannot see it, since in that case it is "LEVEL" called.

User avatar
Andy2No
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 82
Joined: 23 Sep 2015, 16:33
Has thanked: 150 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Post by Andy2No »

Thanks, Manfred.

Calling it Level wasn't the problem - I just missed seeing it all together. I'm so used to seeing a pot across the output, which is a bit half-assed, but seems to be the most common way of doing it.

Post Reply