What stripboards does everyone use and how good is it?

Looking for a particular component or hardware part and you just cannot find it? Got comoonents surplus and want to get rid of it? Post it all here... No sales of working pedals, put these in the 'Seen for sale' section please.
pervyinthepark
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by pervyinthepark »

I'm new to this, and have made a couple PCB projects with relative ease and am beginning the realm of stripboards, jumping in with a modded big muff. My issue in getting it to work, and stay working, seems to be that my generic stripboards absolutely suck. The strips break off really easily, even sometimes when I'm being crazy gentle with the thing. Totally unmoddeble, I got a big muff working without any mods but upon trying to install the mods totally destroyed it beyond my ability (or will) to repair.

So basically, I'm wondering where ya'll get stripboards for this kind of stuff. Ones where the strips aren't basically really poorly fused onto sheets of high-heat plastic, only to defuse upon heating.

deltafred
Opamp Operator
Information

Post by deltafred »

I've always hated stripboard, it is ok if your circuit works first time but as you say it is rubbish if you need to do any mods.

I prefer the perf board, the fibreglass type that is double sided with plated through holes. That withstands rework very well. The single sided paxolin stuff is worse than stripboard.
Politics is the art of so plucking the goose as to obtain the most feathers with the least squawking. - R.G. 2011
Jeez, she's an ugly bastard, she makes my socks hurt. I hope it's no ones missus here. - Ice-9 2012

Frank_NH
Solder Soldier
Information

Post by Frank_NH »

I use Veroboard brand stripboard (epoxy-fiber). Wonderful stuff, and I can resolder many times without damaging the copper. You can order it on Amazon.com.

www.veroboard.com/

pervyinthepark
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by pervyinthepark »