marshall mg15cd guitar amp

Tube or solid-state, this section goes to eleven!
Post Reply
ballfire
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 333
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 06:37
Has thanked: 38 times

Post by ballfire »

good day everybody..


anybody knows here the "dc" output power rating of the power transformer of marshall mg15cd guitar amp series? or what the voltage on primary and secondary..??
im searching for building an amp..

User avatar
Cub
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 416
Joined: 29 Aug 2011, 08:14
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Post by Cub »

Primary: Blue 0V - Brown 230V
Secondary: Red 16V - Black 0 - Red 16V
I wish I were a chestnut tree, nourished by the sun.
With twigs and leaves and branches and conkers by the ton.

ballfire
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 333
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 06:37
Has thanked: 38 times

Post by ballfire »

Cub wrote:Primary: Blue 0V - Brown 230V
Secondary: Red 16V - Black 0 - Red 16V

thanks cub i appreciate it.. :D

User avatar
Cub
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 416
Joined: 29 Aug 2011, 08:14
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Post by Cub »

Any time, ball! :thumbsup

If I may ask, what are your plans to make with such a transformer?
I wish I were a chestnut tree, nourished by the sun.
With twigs and leaves and branches and conkers by the ton.

ballfire
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 333
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 06:37
Has thanked: 38 times

Post by ballfire »

Cub wrote:Any time, ball! :thumbsup

If I may ask, what are your plans to make with such a transformer?

im just maybe or planning build the marshall mg15cd or any other option
because my 30 watts guitar amp until now i cant fix it..i tried all the debugging..because it lost the fatiness on the output its sounds like tingy or twangy output everytime i play my rig through it its now crappy sounding not just like before its sound really meaty and it has this fatiness output now its gone..

my amp is a chinese build amp but even its chinese it sound nice for me..

do you know any diy guitar amp that all IC based circuitry that makea a 30watts on output??

ballfire
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 333
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 06:37
Has thanked: 38 times

Post by ballfire »

good day...


can i use a 18volts 6 ampere power transformer on this build project amp??

any advice please?

User avatar
Cub
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 416
Joined: 29 Aug 2011, 08:14
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Post by Cub »

Sorry, mate! I don't know enough about solid state amps to be of any help here. But before you start ordering all the parts, perhaps it would be wise to compile a list of the costs first. There are plenty of secondhand MG amps on the market and building a clone of one might be a lot more expensive than buying a used original.

Have you thought about bringing your broken 30 Watt amp to a tech who fixes amps for a living?

If you want to have a brilliant solid state amp and want to have fun with DIY, you might want to check this thread. Our forum brother microbailey turned a Peavey Bandit into an absolute beast.
https://www.freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=28876
I wish I were a chestnut tree, nourished by the sun.
With twigs and leaves and branches and conkers by the ton.

ballfire
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 333
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 06:37
Has thanked: 38 times

Post by ballfire »

Cub wrote:Sorry, mate! I don't know enough about solid state amps to be of any help here. But before you start ordering all the parts, perhaps it would be wise to compile a list of the costs first. There are plenty of secondhand MG amps on the market and building a clone of one might be a lot more expensive than buying a used original.

Have you thought about bringing your broken 30 Watt amp to a tech who fixes amps for a living?

If you want to have a brilliant solid state amp and want to have fun with DIY, you might want to check this thread. Our forum brother microbailey turned a Peavey Bandit into an absolute beast.
https://www.freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=28876

i started it months ago..i modified my amp diode bridge section into different one..im so amazed with the marshall amps so i copied the diode bridge section from marshall mg30 30 watts and it function well into my amp..but the tingy output sounding problem still persist into my amp..i need to plan this big if i will modified it all of it inside..


anyway thanks cub for the advice..

bmxguitarsbmx
Solder Soldier
Posts: 214
Joined: 25 Mar 2010, 22:15
Has thanked: 255 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Post by bmxguitarsbmx »

You can fix it man! Electronic repair is an art, so go check out a book for some good ideas on troubleshooting strategy.

My guess is the tinny sound is from a section you modified. A signal generator and an Oscilloscope are invaluable when troubleshooting.

I don't want to bum you out, but cloning a mg15cd is an asinine idea.

ballfire
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 333
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 06:37
Has thanked: 38 times

Post by ballfire »

bmxguitarsbmx wrote:You can fix it man! Electronic repair is an art, so go check out a book for some good ideas on troubleshooting strategy.

My guess is the tinny sound is from a section you modified. A signal generator and an Oscilloscope are invaluable when troubleshooting.

I don't want to bum you out, but cloning a mg15cd is an asinine idea.

thanks for the reply..im starting last night trouble shooting it every section on it the power amp section..everything.. im running some test repeatedly in order to find the main problem of my amp..im not gonna stop until ill find the problem..

what cloning mg15 is a bad idea?? i think marshall amplifiers is good...

phatt
Transistor Tuner
Posts: 1121
Joined: 04 Aug 2010, 06:17
Location: Morayfield SE Qld AU
Been thanked: 266 times

Post by phatt »

Try posting a link to the Amp schematic you are trying to fix. (I assume some kind of 30 Watt amp)
Then explain the problem you have.
That will help us to help you. :thumbsup

BMX was just stating the obvious,, It will cost you just as much (and likely more) to build from scratch as to go and buy one.
Phil.

thetragichero
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 55
Joined: 31 May 2018, 19:26
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Post by thetragichero »

fx loop? that can help you narrow down where the problem may, lie preamp or power amp
I've got an mg100 head that's traveled through a group of friends that I'm keeping the channel switching and power amp but placing two of the baja-type preamp circuits in instead. for me it's just a fun project, though, as this wasn't even close to am amp I regularly used

maybe no help to you, but there are some of us fiddlin with solid state amps

ballfire
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 333
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 06:37
Has thanked: 38 times

Post by ballfire »

Cub wrote:Primary: Blue 0V - Brown 230V
Secondary: Red 16V - Black 0 - Red 16V

good day..

can I use a 18 dc volts and 6 amperes or 24 dcvolts 2 amperes? which one is the correct??transformer I don't have a 16 volts..

Post Reply