power amp for Eleven Rack?

Tube or solid-state, this section goes to eleven!
Ustyalund
Information
my favorite amplifier: I’ve owned Fender, Marshall, Mesa Boogie

Post by Ustyalund »

Hi guys. I just "took the plunge" and got a great deal on an Eleven Rack last week, and was planning on using it with one of my QSC K10's... but I'd also like to try using it with a power amp and my Orange 1x12 cab (and then mic it through the PA). I know that cab will color the tone some, but a lot of people have said that it feels more like a 'real' amp live if you use a guitar cab with a power amp vs. a full-range powered speaker.

I'm new to power amps and was wondering if you guys could suggest a good one to use with the Eleven Rack or amp sims in general... and does tube vs. solid-state matter much tonally with those?

I actually have an almost new Crown XLS1000 stereo power amp already. Would that do the job???

Thanks in advance for any advice! Oh, and I'm still looking for the right midi foot controller... and am open to suggestions on that (preferably not something expensive). And can you use a regular wah pedal with a digital rig?? If so, I'm going to stick with my Vox or Crybaby... and won't have the need for a foot controller with a built-in expression pedal.

plush
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by plush »

Wanna build new one from scratch - go for IcePower mono or stereo module. They have both integrated AC to DC converter with aux power and very clean D-class output.

FiveseveN
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by FiveseveN »

Ustyalund wrote: 14 Sep 2020, 11:33 does tube vs. solid-state matter much tonally with those?