Can I replace SMD by normal resistor?

Frequently asked question regarding resistors, potentiometers, types, requirements, ratings etc.
Post Reply
Dulouz
Information
Posts: 20
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 20:17
my favorite amplifier: My Egnater Tweaker 15
Completed builds: Wampler mods on a 90's Danelectro Fab Tone
Location: San Joaquin Valley, CA

Post by Dulouz »

Hey Guys!

I was replacing the footswitches on my DL4. While I was disconnecting one of the mountain switches my pliers slipped and I nicked the R29 resistor. I got everything wired up, but now that switch is the only one that doesn't work. Could the damage to the resistor be the problem? I've quadruple checked all of the solder joints and everything looks good.

Here's a photo:

Image

User avatar
bajaman
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 4414
Joined: 26 Jun 2007, 21:18
Location: New Brighton, Christchurch, NZ
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 1718 times

Post by bajaman »

yes :wink:
be kind to all animals - especially human beings

Dulouz
Information
Posts: 20
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 20:17
my favorite amplifier: My Egnater Tweaker 15
Completed builds: Wampler mods on a 90's Danelectro Fab Tone
Location: San Joaquin Valley, CA

Post by Dulouz »

Ha! Thanks!

Can you replace SMD components with through hole?

IvIark
Tube Twister
Information
Posts: 2297
Joined: 01 Jan 2008, 23:59
Location: Manchester UK
Has thanked: 600 times
Been thanked: 608 times
Contact:

Post by IvIark »

Yes, you'll just need to solder the leads to the pads. It'll be a bit fiddly but do-able.
"If anyone is a 'genius' for putting jacks in such a pedal in the only spot where they could physically fit, then I assume I too am a genius for correctly inserting my legs into my pants this morning." - candletears7 - TGP

User avatar
Duckman
Opamp Operator
Information
Posts: 1519
Joined: 20 May 2009, 01:45
Has thanked: 311 times
Been thanked: 112 times

Post by Duckman »

looks like 1/8w resistor got almost the same size... almost :hmmm:

Güero 2.0
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 82
Joined: 26 May 2008, 15:42
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Post by Güero 2.0 »

Here, code 1001

Image
"Come squeeze and suck the day.Come Carpe Diem baby!"

Ice-9
Transistor Tuner
Information
Posts: 1088
Joined: 31 Mar 2009, 15:29
my favorite amplifier: Marshall
Completed builds: Far to many to afford the enclosures for them all. :)
Has thanked: 131 times
Been thanked: 351 times
Contact:

Post by Ice-9 »

Just stick on a 1k through hole resistor, use a soldering iron to try and catch both sides of the smd resistor at the same time and it should just stick to the tip of the iron when you push the iron to remove the resistor.
It's fairly straight forward, if you want to start it , press start. You can work out the rest of the controls for yourself !

No silicon heaven ? preposterous ! Where would all the calculators go ?

Dulouz
Information
Posts: 20
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 20:17
my favorite amplifier: My Egnater Tweaker 15
Completed builds: Wampler mods on a 90's Danelectro Fab Tone
Location: San Joaquin Valley, CA

Post by Dulouz »

Thanks for the help everyone!

I had an extra 1K resistor handy and I soldered it to the pads with no problem.

Now all the switches work perfectly!

Post Reply