a general layout for 'blend' ?

Frequent asked about building blocks: gain stages, buffers, clipping configurations, ...
User avatar
Paul Marossy
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 125
Joined: 29 May 2009, 02:46
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Post by Paul Marossy »

I just built the ROG Splitter Blend thing. It's pretty cool. Now I need to figure out exactly how I am going to implement it into my rig...

plexiplud
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 15:11

Post by plexiplud »

lolbou wrote:You mean adding a gain stage in it?
no no as in, I have my MXR Dist III, and i want to put a clean blend circuit into it, so the output will be a blend of clean and the wet effect, preferably with a knob to control the overall blend of the two..

so where would i put the blend circuit into the existing circuit of the Distortion III ?

User avatar
moaner70
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 19:01
my favorite amplifier: one that works
Completed builds

Wooly Mammoth
Muff Fuzz
B Blender
Tube Screamer
Stereo input dual B Blender with mixer and switchable dual out for single or bi-amp
Bass Balls mod
Catalinbread SFT
Brassmaster
Idiotbox BlowBox

Has thanked: 4 times

Post by moaner70 »

"so where would i put the blend circuit into the existing circuit of the Distortion III ?"

It's more a case of building the blend around the effect. Without drawing a block diagram it goes like this, INPUT SOCKET > BLEND CIRCUIT > BLEND SEND > MXR Dist III > BLEND RETURN > BLEND CIRCUIT > OUTPUT SOCKET.

I guess if you where to use the same enclosure you would disconnect the jack sockets from the MXR Dist III and connect them to the Blend circuit. Then wire the MXR Dist III circuit board directly to the send and return of the blend circuit.

cheers
Mark

amonte
Posts: 16
Joined: 25 Mar 2010, 21:25
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Post by amonte »

I'm reviving a 2 year old topic, but I'm interested in doing the same thing - blending a clean signal with an MXR Distortion III.

Looking at the schematic (http://analogguru.an.ohost.de/193/schem ... on-III.gif) and the Buff n' Blend (http://www.beavisaudio.com/techpages/bl ... NBlend.gif), I was wondering if I could simply add a cap at the junction of R14 and C6 and bringing the circuit together at C5 (to have the clean signal effected by the tone control) or at the junction of R1 and VR1. That should work, right?

User avatar
JiM
Diode Debunker
Posts: 920
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 23:56
Completed builds

Completed builds :
Proco Rat
MXR MicroAmp in a volume pedal
TubeDriver (w/ NoS russian tube and big muff tone contol) + Phase 45 (w/ univibe cap ratio)
Dallas Rangemaster (w/ noisy OC75, negative ground)
SubCaster tube booster (w/ NoS russian tube, PtP)
Hot Harmonics
Music From Outer Space SubCommander in progress
Crackle Not OK
Simple bass blender in a 1590A
Bazz Fuss with a photo-darlington

Location: France
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Post by JiM »

amonte wrote:I'm reviving a 2 year old topic, but I'm interested in doing the same thing - blending a clean signal with an MXR Distortion III.

Looking at the schematic (http://analogguru.an.ohost.de/193/schem ... on-III.gif) and the Buff n' Blend (http://www.beavisaudio.com/techpages/bl ... NBlend.gif), I was wondering if I could simply add a cap at the junction of R14 and C6 and bringing the circuit together at C5 (to have the clean signal effected by the tone control) or at the junction of R1 and VR1. That should work, right?
You probably need to isolate the "clean" signal path from the clipping diodes with something better than R18 if you connect at R5. The tone stage opamp will do that if you connect after R1.
But in both cases it will squeal like a pig, because you are actually adding positive feedback to the gain stage. :mrgreen:

Furthermore, some kind of clean boost may be required on the dry signal path to match with the increased volume of the wet signal. To avoid the feedback, at least a buffer (amplifier with unity gain) is required on the dry path, having some gain on tap is then virtually free.

Eventually, adding those buffers starts looking a lot like most blend circuits, doesn't it ?
I only give negative feedback.

User avatar
moaner70
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 19:01
my favorite amplifier: one that works
Completed builds

Wooly Mammoth
Muff Fuzz
B Blender
Tube Screamer
Stereo input dual B Blender with mixer and switchable dual out for single or bi-amp
Bass Balls mod
Catalinbread SFT
Brassmaster
Idiotbox BlowBox

Has thanked: 4 times

Post by moaner70 »

That sounds about right, I don't know enough about the MXR Distortion III input (Q4 and Q1) to say where to tap into the circuit. I'd be inclined to just add my blend send onto R10 and then the blend return onto VR1 but don't listen to me I like to keep things simple! Have fun and experiment. I've always used the B.Blender circuit with full buffers. I've built a couple and had no problems.

User avatar
moaner70
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 19:01
my favorite amplifier: one that works
Completed builds

Wooly Mammoth
Muff Fuzz
B Blender
Tube Screamer
Stereo input dual B Blender with mixer and switchable dual out for single or bi-amp
Bass Balls mod
Catalinbread SFT
Brassmaster
Idiotbox BlowBox

Has thanked: 4 times

Post by moaner70 »

I also made another layout for blend using just one IC here

http://www.freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=8546

squigette_82
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Nov 2011, 02:06

Post by squigette_82 »

So how would you do this if you wanted to blend another effect into a pedal (instead of clean) For example if you had an overdrive pedal that you wanted to dial in some fuzz. What order would the Overdrive, fuzz, and blend circuits need to be in to make this possible?

User avatar
moaner70
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 19:01
my favorite amplifier: one that works
Completed builds

Wooly Mammoth
Muff Fuzz
B Blender
Tube Screamer
Stereo input dual B Blender with mixer and switchable dual out for single or bi-amp
Bass Balls mod
Catalinbread SFT
Brassmaster
Idiotbox BlowBox

Has thanked: 4 times

Post by moaner70 »

Just put one pedal in your normal effects chain and the other pedal within the blend circuit. Instead of blending clean/fuzz it will be overdrive/fuzz. The choice of what of pedal to put within the blend is yours, whatever sounds best.

squigette_82
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Nov 2011, 02:06

Post by squigette_82 »

But what if you wanted the blend knob in the same pedal. Like how a sparkle drive has a blend in it, but to blend in the fuzz.

DeIVIoNaN
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Mar 2014, 19:48

Post by DeIVIoNaN »

I know this is an old tread but, am using moaner70's one ic layout here.. http://www.freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=8546
i still have to get the ic this week, putting this in a loop on a looper im building...

See if it works :)
Attachments
PicsArt_1395600877529.jpg

stompthis
Posts: 26
Joined: 02 Mar 2013, 01:41
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by stompthis »

DeIVIoNaN wrote:I know this is an old tread but, am using moaner70's one ic layout here.. http://www.freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=8546
i still have to get the ic this week, putting this in a loop on a looper im building...

See if it works :)
If it doesnt:
I had excellent results with this very very simple circuit-

http://diy-layout.com/29
Image

Post Reply