Schumann PLL  [traced]

General documentation, gut shot, schematic links, ongoing circuit tracing, deep thoughts ... all about boutique stompboxes.
User avatar
Intripped
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 578
Joined: 25 Aug 2009, 01:03
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 756 times
Been thanked: 220 times

Post by Intripped »

AmpBastler wrote:Some details are wrong, but otherwise man - well Cloner! :applause:

Fab the pcb and it will sound like the original schumann.
you know man, i'll never fab this pcb, i like to draw my own layout.
i did this work just to be sure about the 9V conversion... and also because i didn't like your attitude.

i think, and everyone else too i guess, that you did a very nice work with this effect
if you had shared a complete schema with values or even only if you had shared some other details about the process of converting this thing to 9V - for example the way you have obtained Vref, or your considerations about using the CD4016BE chip and omitting the LM660CN and 74HC14N, then everyone here would have been grateful and satisfied.
just to be clear: you have never been obliged to share your layout - this was definitely up to you - if someone here is blaming you because you didn't do it, then this person is wrong: i think that the layout work is something very personal and sharing is something up to the designer only.

so... now it's my turn on apologizing: i've definitely been too moralistic - my defect, i'm sorry for that

User avatar
LaceSensor
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 576
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:01
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Post by LaceSensor »

AmpBastler wrote:
Pruttelherrie wrote:
Intripped wrote:this should be ampbastler's complete schema and layout.
IC2: CD4016BE or 74HC14N ? this is not clear yet. someone could please confirm the interchangeability?
Good work! :applause:

The fabbed Dimehead board v1.0 uses a CD4016BE.
Also, the row of pots is ever so slightly staggered to get the pots in the right position.
schumann pll board 9V.jpg
Why you post my photo without permission and source? :evil:
You put it on facebook. have a word with yourself.

User avatar
sinner
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 4716
Joined: 06 Nov 2008, 17:16
Location: ...no more
Has thanked: 1111 times
Been thanked: 954 times

Post by sinner »

Here's my take on AmpBastler's layout, hope I didn't break any rools

User avatar
rocklander
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 2724
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 11:33
my favorite amplifier: my jansen bassman 50
Completed builds: rebote 2.5; supreaux; odie; heartthrob tremolo; ross phaser; dr. boogey; thor; baja black toast; slow gear attack, rebote, tri-vibe, small clone, little angel, magnus modulus, echo base, hex fuzz, big muff, 22/7.
Location: Rotorua, New Zealand
Has thanked: 1388 times
Been thanked: 225 times
Contact:

Post by rocklander »

sinner wrote:Here's my take on AmpBastler's layout, hope I didn't break any rools
artwork is subjective.. how can rules be broken?
world's greatest tautologist ...in the world
Ronsonic wrote:...the lower the stakes the more vicious the combat.

User avatar
sinner
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 4716
Joined: 06 Nov 2008, 17:16
Location: ...no more
Has thanked: 1111 times
Been thanked: 954 times

Post by sinner »

rocklander wrote:
sinner wrote:Here's my take on AmpBastler's layout, hope I didn't break any rools
artwork is subjective.. how can rules be broken?
Alright, so I hope I didn't offend anyone...



































































































































...NOOOOT! :mrgreen:

User avatar
Pruttelherrie
Solder Soldier
Information
Posts: 244
Joined: 18 Feb 2011, 19:35
Location: The low lands
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 95 times

Post by Pruttelherrie »

AmpBastler wrote:
Pruttelherrie wrote:
Intripped wrote:this should be ampbastler's complete schema and layout.
IC2: CD4016BE or 74HC14N ? this is not clear yet. someone could please confirm the interchangeability?
Good work! :applause:

The fabbed Dimehead board v1.0 uses a CD4016BE.
Also, the row of pots is ever so slightly staggered to get the pots in the right position.
schumann pll board 9V.jpg
Why you post my photo without permission and source? :evil:
To be honest, I paused a second or two to decide if I should post that picture or not, but then I realized that you posted it on facebook to show off a product that you were going to sell, based on somebody else's circuit. That, combined with your attitude in this thread made me not care about any rights on that photo.

Sinner's or Lacesensor's reply would do too, while being a bit more efficient!

User avatar
sinner
Old Solderhand
Information
Posts: 4716
Joined: 06 Nov 2008, 17:16
Location: ...no more
Has thanked: 1111 times
Been thanked: 954 times

Post by sinner »

Pruttelherrie wrote: Sinner's or Lacesensor's reply would do too, while being a bit more efficient!
efficient and OFF TOPIC :mrgreen:

User avatar
OnTheTundra
Information
Posts: 41
Joined: 19 Sep 2010, 15:47
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Post by OnTheTundra »

Does the circuit have to have a cmos quad opamp or can I use a tl074? Only one of the 4 opamps are used and the LM660cn is pretty hard to source.

User avatar
glops
Information
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jul 2009, 00:45
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by glops »

I have the circuit breadboarded with the 74 and the 660. Try any
Opamp should be fine...

User avatar
LaceSensor
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 576
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:01
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Post by LaceSensor »

heads up to anyone that bought into the Shoebox Pill over at DIY it seems some or all of the pots wire backwards, so beware when populating / testing.

User avatar
digi2t
Degoop Doctor
Information
Posts: 278
Joined: 09 Feb 2011, 15:10
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 367 times

Post by digi2t »

LaceSensor wrote:heads up to anyone that bought into the Shoebox Pill over at DIY it seems some or all of the pots wire backwards, so beware when populating / testing.
The pots being backwards is confirmed, and the divider section not working has a workaround. The workaround is as follows;

1) Cut the PCB trace between pins 2 and 15 on IC7.
2) Cut the PCB trace between pin 5 of IC4, and the COM pin of the Divider switch (SW2).
3) Run a jumper from pin 2 of IC7, to pin 5 of IC4.
4) Run a jumper from pin 15 of IC7, to the COM pin of the Divider switch (SW2).

The pots will have to be wired, instead of soldered directly. The rotary switches are OK.
No matter how many times I cut it, it`s STILL too short!

https://www.deadendfx.com/

User avatar
LaceSensor
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 576
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:01
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Post by LaceSensor »

[youtube][youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUos9_- ... bpArmuoyZQ[/youtube][/youtube]

User avatar
square wave
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 61
Joined: 13 Apr 2013, 18:16
Location: USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Post by square wave »

Great demo, man. Makes me want to build one even more. :thumbsup

User avatar
digi2t
Degoop Doctor
Information
Posts: 278
Joined: 09 Feb 2011, 15:10
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 367 times

Post by digi2t »

Got my vero version boxed. All in one version, PLL, Drone, and Momentary.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The Momentary section awaits the right switch. I ordered the wrong one. So far, it seems to perform as per the original Water Places unit.

I'll be breadboarding my Arpeggiator idea soon, and testing to see if it'll work. If so, it will be a plug-in module.

I'll try to get a video out tomorrow.
No matter how many times I cut it, it`s STILL too short!

https://www.deadendfx.com/

User avatar
LaceSensor
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 576
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:01
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Post by LaceSensor »

Outrageaous wiring extravaganza. Kudos.

User avatar
agoldoor
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 112
Joined: 26 May 2011, 04:37
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Post by agoldoor »

Holy crap! Nice work there... WHAT a wiring job!!!

User avatar
Govmnt_Lacky
Resistor Ronker
Information
Posts: 380
Joined: 24 Mar 2011, 13:00
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Post by Govmnt_Lacky »

DAMN Dino!!!

Do you own stock in those flanged boxes?? :roll:

User avatar
digi2t
Degoop Doctor
Information
Posts: 278
Joined: 09 Feb 2011, 15:10
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 367 times

Post by digi2t »

Govmnt_Lacky wrote:DAMN Dino!!!

Do you own stock in those flanged boxes?? :roll:
LOL!! Yeah... I should. I like them. A lot. I know they take up a bit of real estate, but I love the look of them.
No matter how many times I cut it, it`s STILL too short!

https://www.deadendfx.com/

User avatar
GodSaveMetal
Resistor Ronker
Information
Posts: 301
Joined: 19 Sep 2009, 16:11
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Post by GodSaveMetal »

goodness!!! :shock: :shock: goodness!!!! :shock: digi2t, that thing is great, you would post the ultimate layout of this??? it sounds that you make more changes you have in the circuit you post?? or I´M wrong????? thanks for this exiting project I´m tunned in it!!!! please continued your labour!!!! MANY THANKS for this inspiration!!! :applause: :applause: :applause:

User avatar
digi2t
Degoop Doctor
Information
Posts: 278
Joined: 09 Feb 2011, 15:10
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 367 times

Post by digi2t »

Thank man! No real changes, except for the following info that I discovered today;

Don't be tempted to push the board voltage past +/-11.5VDC. The SN74HC14N can't hack it. I know that Water Places' unit was running at 11.8VDC, and I tried pushing it to 12VDC, but it fried. Considering that it was meant to only handle 2 to 6 VDC, it's amazing that it works at 11.5VDC. As a precaution, I'm running mine at 11VDC even. The KindaFuzzy unit reported 10.3VDC, so go with what you're comfortable with. I ran it at 11.5 for a few hours with no problems.

Also, try not touch the heatsinks of the voltage regulators together. I accidentally did on mine (please don't ask :roll: ), and it fried the regulator, sending the + voltage shooting up to 17VDC, and it fried most of the IC's. Not a good day in Diaperville. Thankfully, I had spares.

Part update - For some strange reason, I marked R9 as 110R, when in reality it's a 1K. I must have misread the bands the first time around, but I caught when I was studying some close-up pics tonight. I have to update the vero. Also, from pics I have of a third unit, it has two 1M resistors in series where R6 is, for 2M of resistance.

Everything is back under control now. I have the unit sounding exactly like Water Places' unit now, using the settings from my "PLL cops an Uglyface" video, my clone is spot on. Still trying to squeeze in some time for a video. Coming soon.
No matter how many times I cut it, it`s STILL too short!

https://www.deadendfx.com/

Post Reply