Zvex - Probe series

General documentation, gut shot, schematic links, ongoing circuit tracing, deep thoughts ... all about boutique stompboxes.
User avatar
DWBH
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 498
Joined: 24 Aug 2007, 16:26
Location: portugal
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by DWBH »

Thanks guys!

I think it's correct now:
Image
Image

User avatar
Space Jm
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 111
Joined: 21 Oct 2007, 13:44
Location: FRANCE
Been thanked: 4 times

Post by Space Jm »

well done guys,

I have a question for you. Finally I succeed to make it work but on mine :

> the "noise" done by the copper plate is working only if I play with low volume on my guitar. Once I play strong, the guitar sound cover the noise...once the sound is decreasing, the noise reappears..

> on yours, could you make it CRY/NOISE even when you play ?
:wink:
Together we stand, divided we fall

User avatar
DWBH
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 498
Joined: 24 Aug 2007, 16:26
Location: portugal
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by DWBH »

Humm, interesting. Would it be possible to eliminate that noise?

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 10:35
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Post by ~arph »

Make sure you do good power supply filtering..and good shielding, a lot of noise only exists on the breadboard too. (which is in fact a big antenna)

User avatar
DWBH
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 498
Joined: 24 Aug 2007, 16:26
Location: portugal
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by DWBH »

Now, looking back at those early gutshots, I can see that the old Volume Probe is different from the new Tremolo Probe in the way that the knob of the back of the enclosure, is only available in the Tremolo Probe. Now, the new Tremolo Probe, i'm guessing it's just a SHO+controller, as the Volume Probe was, but I want to put in that extra knob that the Volume probe didn't have.
Should I basically replace R2 with a pot in this schem?
Image

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 10:35
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Post by ~arph »

Mm.. no I don't think so, yes it will make that a variable output SHO , but my guess is that the trem probe does not have the tuner output. Cause if you wire it the way you suggest the tuner will possibly receive the max boosted signal, not sure if it likes that or makes it less reliable to tune with.
I also wonder if this is the schematic of the vol. probe if the vol probe was actually able to get the volume attenuated enough to make it inaudible. (it all depends how large the resistance between A and B can get...

My guess will be that in the trem probe the probe is used to control the input of the SHO not the output and that the SHO is just the standard SHO circuit with the 5k crackle ok.

User avatar
DWBH
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 498
Joined: 24 Aug 2007, 16:26
Location: portugal
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by DWBH »

EDITED: I'm going to try it out. Then, I'll see what to do.

User avatar
ech0es
Resistor Ronker
Information
Posts: 252
Joined: 30 Jun 2007, 13:51
Been thanked: 6 times

Post by ech0es »

DWBH wrote:Thanks guys!

I think it's correct now:
Image
Image
Where should i connect the potentiometer that i want to control ?

COuld you modify the schematic to show that ?

User avatar
DWBH
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 498
Joined: 24 Aug 2007, 16:26
Location: portugal
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by DWBH »

If the pot uses two lugs (1+(2,3)), or ((1+2),3):

Connect the LDR half of your optocoupler to those two lugs. Then connect the LED half of your optocoupler to the pads of the LED, on the above layout.

Now, if the pot you want to control uses all 3 lugs.... I think you can't use this thing.

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 10:35
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Post by ~arph »

DWBH wrote:If the pot uses two lugs (1+(2,3)), or ((1+2),3):
Now, if the pot you want to control uses all 3 lugs.... I think you can't use this thing.
Correct, you'll have to expand it. Look at the Tone God's Rock 'N Control

http://www.geocities.com/thetonegod/roc ... /rock.html

User avatar
tangalanga
Information
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Dec 2007, 12:24
Has thanked: 2 times

Post by tangalanga »

Hi All!

thanks for all the information,i built this on perf and it worked ok,except that i have "reverse response",the led has max brightness when my hand is far from it,i'll check which pin of the 4093 i used as an output :-P

I plan to use it as an expression pedal for my old and loved lexicon vortex...

Thanks again! :D

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 10:35
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Post by ~arph »

Hi, yes you're probably getting the output on on of the earlier inverters in the chain. Should be easy to find/fix.

Regards,

~arph

User avatar
tangalanga
Information
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Dec 2007, 12:24
Has thanked: 2 times

Post by tangalanga »

Thanks! i'm using your traced schem,arph...i checked the output signal with oscilloscope,it's a variable rate square wave,i'll check the pins later when i'm back at my workshop...i'm reading the rock and control article,really exciting posibilities...

I'm also planning to build a theremin,now that i saw that this is a stable method of control (previously i supposed it would be impossible to trim/calibrate)...

humm...delay time control..."ECHO PROBE"? :twisted:

User avatar
ech0es
Resistor Ronker
Information
Posts: 252
Joined: 30 Jun 2007, 13:51
Been thanked: 6 times

Post by ech0es »

Now imagine a SEEK PROBE, with a probe control in addition to EACH pot of the sequencer. :twisted:

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 10:35
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Post by ~arph »

tangalanga wrote:Thanks! i'm using your traced schem,arph...i checked the output signal with oscilloscope,it's a variable rate square wave,i'll check the pins later when i'm back at my workshop.
Flip the LED.. In my schem the LED is oriented incorrect. That's why you probalbly get inverted PWM response.

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 10:35
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Post by ~arph »

ech0es wrote:Now imagine a SEEK PROBE, with a probe control in addition to EACH pot of the sequencer. :twisted:
One probe and S/H surely?

User avatar
tangalanga
Information
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Dec 2007, 12:24
Has thanked: 2 times

Post by tangalanga »

Flip the LED.. In my schem the LED is oriented incorrect. That's why you probalbly get inverted PWM response.[/quote]

I don´t think it´s a led polarity problem ... cathode must be conected to ground,and positive comes from the the transistor (anode)

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Information
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 10:35
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Post by ~arph »

Mmm.. yeah.. you're right, cant think clearly when at work..
then the pulses must be inverted than I guess. So you either tap at the wrong inverter or you have to add one.

User avatar
xaxxop
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 68
Joined: 11 Mar 2008, 10:05
my favorite amplifier: Gallien Krueger 400RB
Completed builds: DIY: Boss ce-2, EH big muff, MXR microamp, DOD FX25, Stingray Preamp
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Post by xaxxop »

Very good work!!!!!
The project of the wahprobe exists, I cannot find it, thank you very much I wait for response!!!!!
Leandro

User avatar
tomassio22
Information
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Mar 2008, 05:01

Post by tomassio22 »

So can any on here make a clone of the zvex wah probe? Or a probe circuit that I can hook up to a fuzz factory to make it a fuzz probe? I would be very interested in that. Someone, anyone, please let me know!!!

Post Reply