Mesa Boogie Tone Burst

General documentation, gut shot, schematic links, ongoing circuit tracing, deep thoughts ... all about boutique stompboxes.
turbofeedus
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by turbofeedus »

I played one of these in GC and remember thinking it was pretty alright.
I found one cheapish on ebay so I figured I'd trace it.
Enjoy!
P.S. I'm new to eagle, if anyone can help me export the schem to a scalable format I'd reupload.

mbtb1.png
mbtb-1.JPG
mbtb-2.JPG
Last edited by turbofeedus on 26 Sep 2020, 06:06, edited 3 times in total.

HamishR
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by HamishR »

Thanks for tracing! It looks a lot like a mash-up of Xotic AC/RC Boosters with a hint of BB. I wonder why they felt the need for two ICs? Surely this could be done with one.

HamishR
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by HamishR »

Just a query - Looking at U1B are you sure R4 goes to Pin 6 and not Pin 5? I had a feeling it should go to Pin 5 but I may well be way off course!

Thanks!

turbofeedus
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by turbofeedus »

HamishR wrote: 26 Sep 2020, 07:09 Just a query - Looking at U1B are you sure R4 goes to Pin 6 and not Pin 5? I had a feeling it should go to Pin 5 but I may well be way off course!

Thanks!
Yep, had to double check that stage myself. The schem is correct.

HamishR
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by HamishR »

Cool - thanks! Just drawing up a Vero layout. Might be worth a build...

HamishR
Breadboard Brother
Information

Post by HamishR »

Not verified yet but it should work. I hope! I changed the diode arrangement a little but that would be easy to change back to original. It shouldn't make a huge difference either way.
Mesa B Tone Burst.png

Petrvm
Information

Post by Petrvm »