First pedal no output

Forum dedicated to helping people debug and troubleshoot non-functional pedals or builds. Please use an clear and informative title, indicating circuit and basic problem. Don't forget to mark the issue as fixed if this is the case.
Valerio313
Information

Post by Valerio313 »

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the world of DIY pedals and just built my first kit "Musikding: The May"

The pedal works perfectly for the first 5 to 10 minutes, after which it starts buzzing intermittently until the sound is totally lost or extremely reduced. It feels like it stops working as it "warms up".

Switching the pedal off makes the effect true bypass and that's working perfectly, with clean sound from guitar to amp.

At the moment the back is open and the PCB is not in contact with anything.

How can I try and find where the problem can be?

Thanks

Manfred
Tube Twister
Information

Post by Manfred »

Check the solder joints.
Measure the DC voltages at the transistor terminals when the device is working and when the error occurs.
Here is the circuit diagram and the wiring diagram.
mayschematic.pdf
(53.35 KiB) Downloaded 111 times
maywire.pdf
(250.43 KiB) Downloaded 90 times

Valerio313
Information

Post by Valerio313 »

Thanks for the answer,

I'll check everything later today.

With DC at the transistor terminals, you mean Voltages between Base/Collector, Base/Emitter? How can I know the kind of voltages I should expect?

Manfred
Tube Twister
Information

Post by Manfred »

With DC at the transistor terminals, you mean Voltages between Base/Collector, Base/Emitter? How can I know the kind of voltages I should expect?
No, the voltages on the transistor pins in respect to ground.
In the case of the working circuit:
U_Base ~ 1.6V
U_Emitter ~ 1 V
U_Collector ~ 6V

Valerio313
Information

Post by Valerio313 »

I did check voltages and they are correct with the pedal "cold", I strum my guitar for few minutes and when the sound disappears the reading are: