MEC WARWICK 3 BAND EQ RF ISSUE

Pickups, wiring schemes, switch techniques and onboard active electronics for guitars
darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

I have a MEC / WARWICK 3 band bass on board eq and it has an issue. when i plug in my bass guitar the active system has a lot of noise and RF interference. the signal sounds weak when compared to the passive sound? I replaced the battery and i do not see any wires disconnected from the circuit. Any help on this would be appreciated.

User avatar
bajaman
Old Solderhand
Posts: 4398
Joined: 26 Jun 2007, 22:18
Location: New Brighton, Christchurch, NZ
Has thanked: 312 times
Been thanked: 551 times

Post by bajaman »

first check the jack socket, before replacing op amps
be kind to all animals - especially human beings

darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

here are the voltages arcoss the 2 op-amps

tl064
pin 1 4.52 v
pin 2 4.45 v
pin 3 3.78 v
pin 4 9.70 v
pin 5 4.48 v
pin 6 4.48 v
pin 7 4.47 v
pin 8 4.58v
pin 9 4.57 v
pin 10 4.54 v
pin 11 0
pin 12 4.30 v
pin 13 4.54 v
pin 14 4.54 v


tlo62

pin 1 .24 v
pin 2 .44 v
pin 3 .66v
pin 4 0
pin 5 4.30 v
pin 6 4.52 v
pin 7 4.52 v
pin 8 9.70 v

User avatar
bajaman
Old Solderhand
Posts: 4398
Joined: 26 Jun 2007, 22:18
Location: New Brighton, Christchurch, NZ
Has thanked: 312 times
Been thanked: 551 times

Post by bajaman »

the voltages on the TL064 are good - the voltages on the TL062 do not look right to me but without seeing the schematic - hmmm. i would replace the TL062 and remeasure the voltages you should be getting approx 4.5 volts on pins 1,2, and 3.
be kind to all animals - especially human beings

darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

I did the best i could to trace the circuit. Here is a schematic that i came up with.

darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

I replaced the tlo62 with another one and still the same voltage readings? I tried yet another op-amp and still the same readings?

User avatar
bajaman
Old Solderhand
Posts: 4398
Joined: 26 Jun 2007, 22:18
Location: New Brighton, Christchurch, NZ
Has thanked: 312 times
Been thanked: 551 times

Post by bajaman »

ok maybe that side of the op amp is not being used in the circuit - can not see the schematic
be kind to all animals - especially human beings

darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

schematic

User avatar
The G
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 326
Joined: 21 Jun 2009, 12:43
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 123 times
Been thanked: 116 times

Post by The G »

You should double check the schematic for R1 - it doesn't make much sense to bias the + input through R3, then connect it to the ground.
Also, pins 10 and 5 of TL 064 should get some bias from somewhere.
Double also, you may have missed a resistor from pin 14 to pin 6 of TL064.
mw3_1.png
Other than that, nothing beats the old audio probe in debugging.

LATER EDIT: try to use easier to edit/view formats like png/gif/jpg, instead of pdf, when posting things not meant to be definitive.

darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

Maybe this one is a little better.

darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

Better

User avatar
The G
Resistor Ronker
Posts: 326
Joined: 21 Jun 2009, 12:43
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 123 times
Been thanked: 116 times

Post by The G »

As Bajaman said, the first op amp has a problem. I would take out the TL062, then measure the voltage at pin 3 (in the op amp socket) and resistance from each of the pins 1 and 2 to ground. The voltage should be VR and pins 1 and 2 should have no connection to the ground. I'd also test the electrolytic caps around the op amp (C12 and the 1uF between R2 and ground).

darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

Thanks for the help. I bread boarded the last schematic and it works as it should.

darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

I replaced C 2 and it works fine now?

Serge75
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Sep 2012, 11:12
Has thanked: 1 time

Post by Serge75 »

Hallo, could someone please, post the pots for the circuits, where they connect and what value they are? I m not finding anything on google at the moment for a 3band mec preamp. I play on a warwick fortress one 5 and have always liked the sound, but I play it passive. I'd like to give it a try a the active middle cut. Thank you,
Sergio

george giblet
Solder Soldier
Posts: 171
Joined: 30 Dec 2008, 18:27
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 98 times

Post by george giblet »

Looks like some updated schematics were deleted?
Anyone got those?

I've added fixes based on some pretty poor pictures.
It really needs a recheck on a real board or some better pictures.
Attachments
designators_ggfix11.png
sch mw3_2_ggfix11.png

darmstat
Breadboard Brother
Posts: 97
Joined: 06 Feb 2011, 19:15
Been thanked: 41 times

Post by darmstat »

Updated
Attachments
mec warwick 3 band eq.pdf
(704.16 KiB) Downloaded 66 times

george giblet
Solder Soldier
Posts: 171
Joined: 30 Dec 2008, 18:27
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 98 times

Post by george giblet »

Good stuff. Thanks for the update.

I can see the following differences between my schematic your update:
- Where R4 and R12 connect, R12 on my schematic connects to the other side of R4 compared to yours.
* From a technical perspective on how the circuit works I'd go with my connection.
- C2 connects to the other other side of C1.
* Both will work, hard to know what is correct without a PCB.
- R11 value: Mine 20k, Yours 22k.
* Not much to worry about there. Again, would need to be checked against a PCB.
Maybe this part varied in production?
- C4, C8, C9 values. Mine 10pF, Yours 100pF.
* No idea what is correct. I'd have to go over my info and see how clearly I could read the values.
EDIT: I can confirm these caps are 10pF. It is also clear these caps are different to C2 on the PCB.
Personally I'd probably prefer the sound of 100pF.
- I've got a diode on the power.
* I believe this is correct as you can see it on the PCB pic I've posted.

george giblet
Solder Soldier
Posts: 171
Joined: 30 Dec 2008, 18:27
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 98 times

Post by george giblet »

I just realized I actually made a proper schematic and hadn't posted it!
Attachments
mec III V11.png

User avatar
Dirk_Hendrik
Old Solderhand
Posts: 4248
Joined: 03 Jul 2007, 09:44
Location: Old Amsterdam
Has thanked: 214 times
Been thanked: 763 times
Contact:

Post by Dirk_Hendrik »

Pretty!! Thanks!
Sorry. Plain out of planes.

http://www.dirk-hendrik.com

Post Reply