Forum Maintenance & Development News/Announcements

Have a look here for general information about the forum, rules and announcements.
User avatar
The G
Grease Monkey
Information
Posts: 561
Joined: 21 Jun 2009, 11:43
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 293 times

Post by The G »

Thank you for alerting us!
I was not completely surprised, though. The base theme (on which all other themes build) carries a heavy technological debt, being more than 10 years old. I've done a bit of cleaning, but it appears I neglected some moving parts.
I lost patience with the base theme and I started a complete rehaul of the 'Modern' theme's CSS, which should be ready much faster than the new theme I teased Modman about a long time ago. So, until the rehaul completes, I applied a local patch to fix this particular issue.

User avatar
The G
Grease Monkey
Information
Posts: 561
Joined: 21 Jun 2009, 11:43
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 293 times

Post by The G »

We are up to date once again, with both the server and the forum software. The update went smoothly, like it does every time. I wish the site engines I'm working with professionally could be as dependable as phpBB.

User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
Information
Posts: 844
Joined: 07 May 2009, 14:29
my favorite amplifier: Sunn Model T
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 172 times

Post by Dr Tony Balls »

mauman wrote: 16 Feb 2023, 23:46 Recently, the page selection links at the top right corner of posts (for page 1, 2, 3, etc) have disappeared beneath the content (see pic attached.) Links at the bottom of posts are still visible and accessible. It's the same with either Chrome or Firefox, so it's not browser-specific.
They look fine to me.

User avatar
The G
Grease Monkey
Information
Posts: 561
Joined: 21 Jun 2009, 11:43
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 293 times

Post by The G »

We are under some intermittent stress for some time now, causing mainly load on the database. While investigating, I cleaned some spider webs from the server and HTTP/2 works now, which should translate to a springier website. I was sure I did this a few years ago, but somehow did not activate nor check activation. Oh well, it works now ¯\__(ツ)__/¯

User avatar
x-tn
Breadboard Brother
Information
Posts: 68
Joined: 24 Sep 2009, 22:34
Has thanked: 214 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Post by x-tn »

The G wrote: 19 Apr 2024, 18:50 ...I cleaned some spider webs from the server and HTTP/2 works now, which should translate to a springier website.
It's noticeably springier! Thanks!

Post Reply