StripMagic 0.1b

Digital tools for electronic work: software for pcb design, schematic drawing, circuit simulation, parts inventory tools, ...
User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Post by ~arph »

Nope I have to check this.

It should resize with the window. I'll investigate.
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Post by ~arph »

Mmm.. I just set up a board 50x50 no problems displaying that.
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"

User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
Posts: 818
Joined: 07 May 2009, 15:29
my favorite amplifier: Sunn Model T
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Post by Dr Tony Balls »

hrmmm.....well that was on my work computer (Vista) which i probably shouldnt be creating layouts on anyway. I'll try on my home comp tonight and see.

Thanks again.... I think this thing kinda rules.

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Post by ~arph »

Small update

It is now possible to export a Bill of Materials in the File -> Export menu
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"

User avatar
culturejam
Old Solderhand
Posts: 4297
Joined: 24 Feb 2008, 06:59
Has thanked: 391 times
Been thanked: 425 times

Post by culturejam »

For some reason, I can't delete trace cuts or really short jumpers.

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Post by ~arph »

Well it's not your fault :D

I have to fix/still build this.

Expect an update soon
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"

User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
Posts: 818
Joined: 07 May 2009, 15:29
my favorite amplifier: Sunn Model T
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Post by Dr Tony Balls »

another suggestion....

On resistors spanning only one or two strips, it turns the resistor image vertical (as one would) but it's quite hard to read the resistor number then because the font is black and so is the resistor lead. maybe a font or color change?

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Post by ~arph »

Good point.

I'll try some different options (like white text outlined in black)
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"

User avatar
Dr Tony Balls
Diode Debunker
Posts: 818
Joined: 07 May 2009, 15:29
my favorite amplifier: Sunn Model T
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Post by Dr Tony Balls »

Also, trimpots would be a good option.

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Post by ~arph »

Yes, those are in progress. You can allready open .diy files with trimpots in it. (so a hack would be to put them in the .diy file manually ;) )
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"

beliefspacestu
Posts: 10
Joined: 20 Sep 2009, 16:53

Post by beliefspacestu »

Fantastic work, I've been looking for something like this for ages. Nice one.

Stu

User avatar
jessej
Posts: 24
Joined: 28 May 2009, 20:39

Post by jessej »

Works well in Mac OS X Version 10.5.8 with Java Version 12.4.0 (Platform Standard Edition 6) on my 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo macbook with the older GMA X3100 GPU.

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Post by ~arph »

Hi,

I just did a quick release. The current version keeps unknown components when saving. This means all pots, and jacks and switches that were in the original diylc file will be kept when you save it again with stripmagic.

Regards,

Arnoud
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"

RnFR
Old Solderhand
Posts: 5138
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
my favorite amplifier: Traynor YBA-III, Fender Super Six
Completed builds: custom fuzz.
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 121 times
Been thanked: 100 times
Contact:

Post by RnFR »

i can't get it to open DIYLC files at all. i get what looks like a tiny little board. you are saying that we should be able to open them and then save them in SM, right?
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO

User avatar
culturejam
Old Solderhand
Posts: 4297
Joined: 24 Feb 2008, 06:59
Has thanked: 391 times
Been thanked: 425 times

Post by culturejam »

RnFR wrote:i can't get it to open DIYLC files at all. i get what looks like a tiny little board. you are saying that we should be able to open them and then save them in SM, right?
Only the newer beta java version of DIYLC.

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Post by ~arph »

Hi,

it only opens DIYLC files from the original version (eg. all the ones on bancika's website). The new beta files are not supported.
Also it saves them as thhe first version. There is no special StripMagic format.
I'm absolutely sure it works as I've tested it with loads of layouts from diy-fever (bancika's site)

If you still have trouble I'm interested. Perhaps you can send me the layout and I can see why it will not load.

Regards,

Arnoud
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"

RnFR
Old Solderhand
Posts: 5138
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
my favorite amplifier: Traynor YBA-III, Fender Super Six
Completed builds: custom fuzz.
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 121 times
Been thanked: 100 times
Contact:

Post by RnFR »

ok, i'm using the java version on a mac.

also, i've been having some problems with it not saving projects properly. i lost a couple of layouts that way yesterday, so i think i'm going to have to go back to diylc for now. which bums me out, because i really like the checking function on this program.
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO

User avatar
~arph
Cap Cooler
Posts: 606
Joined: 20 Sep 2007, 11:35
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Post by ~arph »

That really is a bummer (I want you too use my program)
Could you elaborate a little on what you did ?
Did you create a new layout? or modified an existing one?
Any particular "odd" things you did?

Also did you get eny error messages?

What would greatly help is to turn the Java Console on, if there are errors they will show up in there and they would help me a lot.

In windows you go:

Start -> Run -> javaws -viewer


Then in the Java Control Panel that will show up (you can close the cache viewer window) there is a Tab labeled Advanced.
In the tree under Java Console, you can enable the Java Console.

Next time you start a Java program a separate window with the program output will show up.

This will not directly solve your problems, but might help me when you encounter a problem again. (so you can then see and post the actual error that occured)

Regards,

Arnoud
In the quiet words of the virgin Mary: "Come again?"

User avatar
mictester
Old Solderhand
Posts: 2916
Joined: 11 Sep 2008, 21:29
my favorite amplifier: Mesa Boogie, Roost Sessionmaster, AC30
Completed builds: Hundreds! Mostly originals, a few clones and lots of modifications.
Location: Somewhat closer to Amsterdam than before!
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 375 times
Contact:

Post by mictester »

~arph wrote:Hi guys,

Posted this at the other forum too. Here is a little something I've been working on lately. (I'n not 100% electronics, more like 50/50 with software engineering)

Still a work in progress, but I feel some of you might enjoy trying it out.

You need Java 1.6+ and a OpenGL enable gfx card. Then click this link:

http://www.friedair.com/stripmagic/start.jnlp

Regards,

Arnoud
I've just got around to trying this - it works really well under both Mandriva and Ubuntu Linux. Superb programme. I realise you have a few bugs to fix, but it's nearly there!
"Why is it humming?" "Because it doesn't know the words!"

RnFR
Old Solderhand
Posts: 5138
Joined: 09 Jan 2008, 07:02
my favorite amplifier: Traynor YBA-III, Fender Super Six
Completed builds: custom fuzz.
Location: Inner Earth
Has thanked: 121 times
Been thanked: 100 times
Contact:

Post by RnFR »

~arph wrote:That really is a bummer (I want you too use my program)
Could you elaborate a little on what you did ?
Did you create a new layout? or modified an existing one?
Any particular "odd" things you did?

Also did you get eny error messages?

What would greatly help is to turn the Java Console on, if there are errors they will show up in there and they would help me a lot.

In windows you go:

Start -> Run -> javaws -viewer


Then in the Java Control Panel that will show up (you can close the cache viewer window) there is a Tab labeled Advanced.
In the tree under Java Console, you can enable the Java Console.

Next time you start a Java program a separate window with the program output will show up.

This will not directly solve your problems, but might help me when you encounter a problem again. (so you can then see and post the actual error that occured)

Regards,

Arnoud
i was making a new layout, and no error messages. it was taking a little while to load as well. it could've just been a boneheaded mistake on my part. i'll give that java thing a try if i get a chance.
"You've converted me to Cubic thinking. Where do I sign up for the newsletter? I need to learn more about how I can break free from ONEism Death Math." - Soulsonic

Blog-APOCALYPSE AUDIO

Post Reply