Switch to change order of effects

All frequent questions on switching: true or not true bypass, transistor-based or mechanical.
Grimiss
Information

Post by Grimiss »

Hi,

I am currently building a dual delay pedal using 2 discrete PCB kits that are two different types of delay.

I am housing them in one pedal enclosure, so at the moment Delay A runs into Delay B. However, I would like to add a switch to change the direction/order of the effects. ie Delay A -> Delay B when the switch is one way and Delay B -> Delay A with the switch the other way.

Does anyone know of a simple way to do this?

Please note that I'm fairly new to pedal building, so simple instructions and/or diagrams would be welcome!!

Thanks in advance.

Grim

soulsonic
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: Traynor YVM-1
Completed builds: too many!

Post by soulsonic »

you can do it with a 3PDT switch easily.
"Analog electronics in music is dead. Analog effects pedal design is a dead art." - Fran

soulsonic
Old Solderhand
Information
my favorite amplifier: Traynor YVM-1
Completed builds: too many!

Post by soulsonic »

See, easy...
OrderSwap1.JPG
"Analog electronics in music is dead. Analog effects pedal design is a dead art." - Fran

fantasma
Information

Post by fantasma »

Hi there
Sorry, I don't know how to read that schematic and I have a 3dpt Toggle Switch I must use in a friend's 2 in 1 box.
I've did that offboard wiring based on one General Guitar Gadgets image of a loop order switch.
Do you think this could work? I'm not sure about both 3dpt effect switches.
Thank you in advance!

Nocentelli
Tube Twister
Information

Post by Nocentelli »

Yes, that will work to switch the order of two circuit paths, each with their own bypass switch
modman wrote: Let's hope it's not a hit, because soldering up the same pedal everyday, is a sad life. It's that same ole devilish double bind again...

fantasma
Information

Post by fantasma »