Cowpoke preamp  [schematic]

Pickups, wiring schemes, switch techniques and onboard active electronics for guitars and basses
cars10
Information

Post by cars10 »

I am the proud owner of what is called a cowpoke bass. This is a bit of an odd Fender bass having 22 frets and an active preamp. It has been produced in Mexico for only about two years (94/95). Some belive the preamp was designed by Mr. Kubicki as this was the time Fender had a collaboration with him. Other say it was designed by Fender themselve. This thread over at talkbass is about the best source of information for those basses.

Well, mine did show a problem with the output signal being very low some times and being good others. So I decided to have a look and, while I am at it trace the schematic as I did not find it elsewhere on the net.

So here is the schematic I came up with:
cowpoke_schematic.jpg

The pots are stacked pots (mix/volume and bass/treble).
I am not an expert for preamps so first it seemed odd to me that the output of the opamp1 would not be directly connected to the input of opamp2. But I checked several times. This is how it is build. I did a quick ac simulation to see its frequency response. Be aware I did not use the right op amp and the output is in volt. The input signal was a sine with a peak voltage of 1V. Bass and treble pots have been in the middle.
freq_mid.jpg

This might explain why most of people feel the preamp sounds rather bright.
If you sweep the pot position you get this response so there is quite a range to adjust.
freq_sweep.jpg

If someone is able to explain more on how this preamp and especially the eq works I would be very interested.