PCB GuitarMania Odd Caveman kit build Topic is solved

TheGimp
Information

Post by TheGimp »

Hi folks,

My first post, so hello.

This will also be my first effects pedal kitbuild.
I am not an engineer, I have basic soldering skills, and I can read a map and follow guides.

First question - does anyone have photos of a completed build, the enclosure and the PCB, please?

Second question - other images I have found for the original pedal (Oddfellows Caveman, version 2), shows 4 pots, a three-position switch, and two footswitches - Bypass and Boost.
The kit includes two footswitches, and the PCB has connection points for both, but the enclosure for this pedal only has one hole drilled for a footswitch, and the drilling template associated with this model matches the enclosure I have received.

What am I missing?

Cheers,
Stuart

karul
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by karul »

Isn't it better to contact the PCB Guitar Mania? It's their product.

TheGimp
Information

Post by TheGimp »

karul wrote: 26 Jan 2022, 18:20 Isn't it better to contact the PCB Guitar Mania? It's their product.
Hi Karul.

Sure, but two of the three links for further information on their page is to this message board.
And the PCB Guitar Mania section here has... absolutely no threads.
I'm trying to avoid joining the FB group at the moment.

There has been some analysis of the original Caveman here, so my hope was that there would be a number of ppl here who've built those kits.

karul
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by karul »

Yeah, I saw the links. V2 have bigger box 1590BB, but maybe it will all fit in the smaller box. Is the enclosure pre-drilled?

karul
Cap Cooler
Information

Post by karul »

And this is the thread, you can see some photos over there and get the idea how to make it fit in your box.
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=24186

TheGimp
Information

Post by TheGimp »

Yes, the enclosure is pre-drilled - it matches this template:

https://pcbguitarmania.com/wp-content/u ... mplate.pdf