Original (?) harmonic tremolo circuit troubleshooting

Original effects with schematics, layouts and instructions, freely contributed by members or found in publications. Cannot be used for commercial purposes without the consent of the owners of the copyright.
oxbow_lake
Information

Post by oxbow_lake »

Hello, this is my first time posting and I'm not sure if this is the right place to do it. I tried to register with DIYstompboxes but the registration confirmation email never got through despite many attempts.

I am an amateur circuit enthusiast. I designed the attached harmonic tremolo circuit from scratch. What makes it different from other harmonic trems I have seen is that rather than always having the high and low pass filter gains oscillating 180 degrees out of phase from each other, you can have each filter oscillate independently. This leads to some kind of nice leslie-esque effects. The circuit works, however it is extremely noisy. Specifically, there is an intolerable amount of hiss/white noise regardless of knob settings. Also, in moving from breadboard to a PCB in a box, it also picked up the dreaded oscillator click bleeding through the power supply.

The basic design is a JFET input buffer with some gain, followed by active high- and low-pass filters whose input amplitude is modulated by JFETs acting as variable resistors. A buffered version of the clean signal is mixed through a simple pot to act as a blend/depth control. The LFOs are your typical bang-bang opamp LFOs because they're easy. Pots control high-pass oscillator frequency, low-pass oscillator frequency, blend/depth, and output volume. Switch toggles between traditional harmonic tremolo and independent oscillator control.

The JFETs being used are NTE458s (no longer available, but the circuit works the same using PN4393s), and despite the labeling in the schematic, the two quad opamps being used are TL074s. Power is being supplied at +9V, +5V, and 0V using an L78L05 voltage regulator.